JAVMA News logo

March 01, 2021

American College of Zoological Medicine

Published on
information-circle This article is more than 3 years old


Virtual meeting, Nov. 9, 2020


Dr. Janssen
Dr. Don Janssen

Dr. Murray Fowler Lifetime Achievement Award
Dr. Don Janssen (California-Davis ’78), Escondido, California, won this award given for exceptional commitment and contributions to the ACZM while making significant lifetime contributions that have advanced the discipline of zoological medicine. A diplomate of the ACZM and a past president of the American Association of Zoo Veterinarians, Dr. Janssen served as director of veterinary services and was vice president for animal health at San Diego Zoo Global prior to retirement. He is known for his leadership in the field of zoo and wildlife medicine and for his contributions via clinical research, veterinary practice, teaching, mentoring, and service throughout his career.

ACZM Student Manuscript Award
Dr. Molly Martony, Tampa, Florida, for “Clinicopathological prognostic indicators of survival and pathological findings in cold-stressed Florida manatees (Trichechus latirostris)”

President’s Award
Drs. Jennifer D’Agostino, Oklahoma City, Oklahoma; Lisa Harrenstien, Portland, Oregon; Kathryn Gamble, Chicago; and Olivia Petritz, Raleigh, North Carolina

New Diplomates

Kadie Anderson, Vaughn, Washington
Kendra Bauer, Manvel, Texas
Emilie Couture, Granby, Quebec
Lara Croft, Denver
Peter DiGeronimo, Philadelphia
Nicola Di Girolamo, Stillwater, Oklahoma
Christine Higbie, La Quinta, California
Laura Kleinschmidt, Omaha, Nebraska
Cedric Larouche, Scarborough, Ontario
Dana Lindemann, Orlando, Florida
Matt Marinkovich, Del Mar, California
Molly Martony, Tampa, Florida
June Olds, Urbandale, Iowa
Sarah Ozawa, Davis, California
Anne Rivas, Vestavia Hills, Alabama
Justin Rosenberg, Wichita, Kansas
Estelle Rousselet, Seigy, France
Julie Sheldon, Chicago
Zoltan Szabo, Hong Kong
Stamatios Tahas, London
Karisa Tang, Minneapolis
Lori Westmoreland, Morehead City, North Carolina
Michelle Whitehead, Lebanon, Illinois


Drs. Jennifer N. Langan, Brookfield, Illinois, president; Douglas Whiteside, Calgary, Alberta, vice president; Christopher J. Bonar, Dallas, secretary; Lisa Harrenstien, Portland, Oregon, treasurer; and Kay Backues, Tulsa, Oklahoma, immediate past president