JAVMA News logo

February 01, 2021

Joint pathology meeting

Published on
information-circle This article is more than 3 years old


American College of Veterinary Pathologists, American Society for Veterinary Clinical Pathology, and International Society for Animal Clinical Pathology, joint annual virtual meetings, Oct. 30-Nov. 1, 2020


Harold W. Casey Memorial Scholarship Award
Dr. Candice Chu, College Station, Texas. Dr. Chu is a 2013 veterinary graduate of National Taiwan University in Taipei City. She is a clinical pathology resident at Texas A&M University College of Veterinary Medicine & Biomedical Sciences.

Dr. Barker
Dr. Ian Barker

ACVP Honorary Membership
Dr. Ian Barker, Guelph, Ontario

Dr. Brown
Dr. Corrie Brown
Dr. Meuten
Dr. Donald Meuten

ACVP Distinguished Membership
Drs. Corrie Brown, Athens, Georgia; Frederick “Ted” Leighton, Smith’s Cove, Nova Scotia; Robert Maronpot, Raleigh, North Carolina; and Donald Meuten, Cripple Creek, Virginia

Dr. Christopher
Dr. Mary Christopher

ASVCP Lifetime Achievement Award
Dr. Mary Christopher (Iowa State ’80), Davis, California. Dr. Christopher is a professor of clinical pathology at the University of California-Davis School of Veterinary Medicine. She also serves as vice chair of the veterinary school’s Department of Pathology, Microbiology & Immunology. Dr. Christopher is a diplomate of the ACVP and president of the ISACP.

Dr. Jones Hostetter
Dr. Shannon Jones Hostetter

ASVCP Educator Award
Dr. Shannon Jones Hostetter (Iowa State ’00), Athens, Georgia. Dr. Jones Hostetter is an associate professor of pathology at the University of Georgia College of Veterinary Medicine.


The ACVP held discussions on the progress of strategic plans and overviewed the Training Program Accreditation Task Force.


Dr. Ackermann
Dr. Mark Ackermann
Dr. Boyd
Dr. Kelli Boyd
Dr. Wood
Dr. Darren Wood
Dr. Viall
Dr. Austin K. Viall

ACVP: Drs. Mark Ackermann, Corvallis, Oregon, president; Kelli Boyd, Nashville, Tennessee, president-elect; Amy Durham, Philadelphia, chief operations officer; Kevin Esch, Kalamazoo, Michigan, treasurer; Susan Tornquist, Corvallis, Oregon, immediate past president; and directors—Drs. Jerry Ritchey, Stillwater, Oklahoma; Anne Provencher, Sherbrooke, Quebec; Lauri Diehl, Foster City, California; and Nicola Parry, North Grafton, Massachusetts. ASVCP: Drs. Darren Wood, Guelph, Ontario, president; Austin K. Viall, Ames, Iowa, president-elect; Melinda Camus, Athens, Georgia, secretary; Katie Boes, Blacksburg, Virginia, secretary-elect; Sarah Barrett, Blacksburg, Virginia, treasurer; Amy Warren, Calgary, Alberta, immediate past president; and board members—Drs. Erica Behling-Kelly, Ithaca, New York; Laura Cregar, Mattawan, Michigan; and Lisa Kelly, Athens, Georgia. ISACP: Drs. Mary Christopher, Davis, California, president; Gabriele Rossi, Perth, Australia, vice president; Carolina Rios, Santiago, Chile, secretary; Michael Fry, Knoxville, Tennessee, treasurer; and John Harvey, Gainesville, Florida, executive director