JAVMA News logo

January 15, 2021

Association of Shelter Veterinarians

Published on
information-circle This article is more than 3 years old


Virtual annual meeting, Oct. 18, 2020


Dr. Attard
Dr. Esther Attard

Veterinarian of the Year
Dr. Esther Attard (Guelph ’91), Toronto. Dr. Attard is the acting director of Toronto Animal Services, where she began her career as a shelter veterinarian. Prior to being named acting director, she served as chief veterinarian. Dr. Attard has developed several successful initiatives, partnerships, and programs within TAS, including ways to help low-income and homeless pet owners take care of their pets during the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic.

Dr. Janeczko
Dr. Stephanie Janeczko

Meritorious Service Award
Dr. Stephanie Janeczko (Cornell ’04), New York City, won this award for her contributions to shelter medicine, including leadership, public service, research, education, advocacy, and clinical practice. Dr. Janeczko is vice president of shelter medicine services for the American Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals. She previously served as medical director and interim director of operations for Animal Care & Control of New York City.


Dr. Aziz
Dr. Chumkee Aziz

Drs. Chumkee Aziz, Houston, president; Staci Cannon, Nashville, Tennessee, vice president; Uri Donnett, Madison, Wisconsin, secretary; Nancy Bradley, Glendale, Arizona, treasurer; and Erin Doyle, Needham, Massachusetts, immediate past president