JAVMA News logo

January 15, 2021

American Association of Feline Practitioners

Published on
information-circle This article is more than 3 years old


Virtual annual conference, Oct. 3-4 and Oct. 24-25, 2020


The conference drew almost 2,000 attendees from 37 countries and focused on diseases and disorders of the feline head and neck. On offer were live and on-demand educational sessions, scientific research posters and oral abstract presentations, educational discussion forums, ask-the-expert sessions, opportunities to network with colleagues on feline medicine, and virtual exhibit booths. Attendees have access to content until June 30, 2021, via the AAFP conference platform and app. The association thanks the members of the 2020 AAFP Conference Task Force for their contributions in making the virtual conference a success.


Young Veterinarian Scholarship, sponsored by Royal Canin
Scholarships to attend the conference were presented to 25 young veterinarians who expressed an interest in and a passion toward feline medicine. Recipients attended one of three virtual roundtable discussion groups to network with each other, representatives of Royal Canin, and AAFP officials.

Student Awards, sponsored by Purina Pro Plan Veterinary Diets
General conference registration fees were awarded to 20 veterinary students interested in learning more about feline medicine and a feline-focused postgraduate career path. The recipients were selected from 15 schools and colleges of veterinary medicine in the United States and Canada.


Dr. St. Denis
Dr. Kelly St. Denis
Dr. Meyer
Dr. Michelle Meyer

Drs. Kelly St. Denis,  Brantford, Ontario, president; Michelle Meyer, Sterling Heights, Michigan, president-elect; Colleen Currigan, Chicago, treasurer and AVMA alternate delegate; Apryl Steele, Denver, immediate past president; Marcus Brown, Arlington, Virginia, AVMA delegate and director; and directors—Drs. Lauren Demos, Waterford, Michigan; Diana Lafer, West Hartford, Connecticut; Ken Lambrecht, Madison, Wisconsin; Paula Monroe-Aldridge, Tulsa, Oklahoma; Kira Ramdas, The Woodlands, Texas; and Tammy Sadek, Grand Rapids, Michigan