JAVMA News logo

December 15, 2020

Association of Avian Veterinarians

Published on December 03, 2020


ExoticsCon 2020, virtual meeting, Sept. 11-12

Dr. Osofsky
Dr. Anna Osofsky
Dr. van Zeeland
Dr. Yvonne van Zeeland
Dr. Beaufrere
Dr. Hugues Beaufrere
Dr. Lierz
Dr. Michael Lierz


AAV President’s Service Appreciation Award
Dr. Anna Osofsky (California-Davis ’99), Carrollton, Texas. A diplomate of the American Board of Veterinary Practitioners in avian practice, Dr. Osofsky practices at Carrollton West Pet Hospital. She serves as advisory council representative on the AAV executive board and is co-chair of the AAV Education Committee. Dr. Osofsky previously served as vice chair of the American Board of Veterinary Practitioners’ Avian Credentials Committee and was a member of the AAV Research Committee.

AAV Outstanding Service Award
Dr. Yvonne van Zeeland (Utrecht ’04), Utrecht, Netherlands. A diplomate of the European College of Zoological Medicine in avian medicine and small mammal medicine, Dr. van Zeeland serves as an assistant professor in the Division of Zoological Medicine at Utrecht University in the Netherlands. She is a member of the AAV International Committee. A past president of the AAV, Dr. van Zeeland has served as AAV conference chair and has co-chaired the AAV Trilateral Committee and AAV International Committee.

Journal of Avian Medicine and Surgery 2019-2020 Best Clinical Report, sponsored by Lafeber Company
Dr. Omar Zaheer, University of Guelph, for “Asymmetrical cloacoplasty for the treatment of chronic cloacal prolapse in psittaciformes: A case series”

Journal of Avian Medicine and Surgery 2019-2020 Best Original Research, sponsored by Lafeber Company
Elke Gasthuys, PhD, Ghent University, for “Development of an in vivo lipopolysaccharide inflammation model to study the pharmacodynamics of COX-2 inhibitors celecoxib, mavacoxib, and meloxicam in cockatiels (Nymphicus hollandicus)”

Research Grant Award
AAV Support of Avian Research grants, Avian Health Fund: Dr. Hugues Beaufrere, University of Guelph, received $19,860 for “Lipoprotein measurements using gel-permeation-HPLC and a biochemical analyzer in normolipidemic and dyslipidemic Quaker parrots”; and Dr. Michael Lierz, Justus-Liebig University of Giessen, received $20,000 for “Investigations into vertical transmission of Psittacine bornavirus in parrots using cockatiels as a model.” Wild Bird Health Fund: Dr. Sonia Hernandez, University of Georgia, received $4,560 for “Urbanization of the American white ibis (Eudocimus albus): Impact on nestling pathogen dynamics.”

Dr. Zehnder
Dr. Ashley Zehnder
Dr. De La Navarre
Dr. Byron De La Navarre


Drs. Ashley Zehnder, Newark, California, president; Byron De La Navarre, Chicago, president-elect; Len Donato, Wayne, Pennsylvania, treasurer; and Elizabeth B. Mackey, Athens, Georgia, immediate past president and conference chair