JAVMA News logo

December 01, 2020

American Association of Veterinary Parasitologists

Published on
information-circle This article is more than 3 years old


Virtual annual meeting, June 20-23


The theme of the meeting was “Progressive solutions to age-old problems.” Prerecorded plenary and sponsored presentations were featured during the first three days of the meeting, with presenters answering questions in real time. Winners of the AAVP–Boehringer Ingelheim Distinguished Veterinary Parasitologist Award and Outstanding Graduate Student Research Award also made presentations at the meeting. Prerecorded videos of additional oral and poster presentations were made available on a dedicated website. The fourth day of the meeting was dedicated to the judging of entries submitted by participants of the student competitions.

Sharon Patton
Sharon Patton, PhD
Thomas Kennedy
Thomas J. Kennedy, PhD
Dr. Steuer
Dr. Ashley E. Steuer
Dr. Castro
Dr. Jimenez Castro


AAVP–Boehringer Ingelheim Distinguished Veterinary Parasitologist Award
Sharon Patton, PhD, Knoxville, Tennessee. Dr. Patton earned her doctorate in parasitology in 1975 from the University of Kentucky. She taught parasitology and conducted research at the University of Tennessee College of Veterinary Medicine for 38 years, retiring as a professor emeritus in 2014.

AAVP Distinguished Service Award
Thomas J. Kennedy, PhD, Westport, Wisconsin, won this award in recognition of his service to the AAVP and the World Association for the Advancement of Veterinary Parasitology. Dr. Kennedy earned his doctorate in parasitology in 1975 from the University of Wisconsin-Madison. Known for his expertise and contributions in the fields of anticoccidial and anthelmintic research and development, he serves as a consultant for the animal health industry. Dr. Kennedy is a past president of the AAVP and WAAVP.

AAVP–Merck Animal Health Outstanding Graduate Student Award
Dr. Ashley E. Steuer (Tennessee ’16), Amarillo, Texas. Dr. Steuer earned her doctorate in parasitology in 2020 from the University of Kentucky. Her research focused on the local and systemic inflammatory reactions caused by anthelmintic treatment in horses with naturally acquired cyathostomin infections. Her other research interests include the development and validation of novel diagnostics, evaluation of novel anthelmintics and treatment protocols, epidemiological and prevalence surveys, and in vitro development and maintenance of equine helminths. Dr. Steuer recently joined the faculty of Texas Tech University School of Veterinary Medicine.

AAVP–Companion Animal Parasite Council Graduate Student Award in Zoonotic Disease
Dr. Jimenez Castro, Athens, Georgia. Dr. Castro received his veterinary degree in 2013 from the National University of Colombia Faculty of Veterinary Medicine and Zootechnics and is pursuing his doctorate and completing a residency program in veterinary clinical parasitology at the University of Georgia College of Veterinary Medicine. His research is focused on investigating the biology, epidemiology, and genetics of multiple drug resistance in Ancylostoma caninum. Dr. Castro’s other research interests include clinical efficacy and safety trials, anthelmintic resistance, and the epidemiology and control of parasites of veterinary and public health importance.

Dr. Carithers
Dr. Doug Carithers
Dr. Nielsen
Dr. Martin Nielsen


Drs. Doug Carithers, Duluth, Georgia, president; Martin Nielsen, Lexington, Kentucky, president-elect and 2021 program chair; Antoinette Marsh, Columbus, Ohio, vice president; Adriano Vatta, Richland, Michigan, secretary-treasurer; Alan Marchiondo, Santa Fe, New Mexico, executive secretary; Mason Reichard, Stillwater, Oklahoma, immediate past president; and student representatives—Drs. Julie Thompson, New Orleans, and Kathryn Duncan, Stillwater, Oklahoma