JAVMA News logo

October 01, 2020

American Veterinary Epidemiology Society

Published on
information-circle This article is more than 3 years old


Virtual annual meeting, Aug. 3

Dr. Poppe
Brig. Gen. John L. Poppe
Dr. Chaddock
Dr. H. Michael Chaddock


Karl F. Meyer—James H. Steele Gold Headed Cane Award, sponsored by Hartz Mountain Corp.
Brig. Gen. John L. Poppe (Washington State ’86), San Antonio, and Dr. H. Michael Chaddock (Michigan State ’73), Okemos, Michigan. A diplomate of the American College of Veterinary Preventive Medicine, Dr. Poppe served as the 25th chief of the U.S. Army Veterinary Corps from 2011-15. As head of the Veterinary Corps, he was also the Army assistant surgeon general for force projection. Dr. Poppe ended his military career as deputy chief of staff for public health with the U.S. Army Medical Command. Dr. Chaddock was associate dean for administration and a professor in the Department of Large Animal Clinical Sciences at Michigan State University College of Veterinary Medicine prior to retirement. Earlier in his career, he served as Michigan state veterinarian, was director of the AVMA Government Relations Division, and served as assistant dean for one health and strategic initiatives at Texas A&M University College of Veterinary Medicine & Biomedical Sciences.

Dr. Iverson
Lt. Cmdr. Sally Ann Iverson

AVES Early Career Professional Achievement Award, sponsored by Hartz Mountain Corp.
Lt. Cmdr. Sally Ann Iverson (Cornell ’11), Bowie, Maryland, was the second recipient of this award, given for contributions toward one health early in one’s career. A diplomate of the ACVPM, Dr. Iverson is a speechwriter for the Congressional and Public Affairs Staff within the Office of Public Affairs and Consumer Education at the U.S. Department of Agriculture Food Safety and Inspection Service. In 2016, she was selected for the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention’s Epidemic Intelligence Service training program, deploying on several occasions to investigate zoonotic and foodborne disease outbreaks in the country.

Dr. Clavijo
Dr. Alfonso Clavijo
Dr. Jackson
Dr. Carney Jackson
Dr. Jones
Dr. Estella Z. Jones
Dr. Palmer
Dr. Guy H. Palmer
Dr. Chapman
Dr. Helena J. Chapman
Dr. Giesbrecht
Dr. Kelly H. Giesbrecht
Dr. Lairmore
Dr. Michael D. Lairmore
Nancy Chaney
Nancy Chaney


Dr. Gundran
Dr. Romeo S. Gundran
Dr. Holzbauer
Dr. Stacy M. Holzbauer

Honorary diplomates, sponsored by Hartz Mountain Corp.
Dr. Alfonso Clavijo, Manhattan, Kansas; Dr. Carney Jackson, Richmond, Kentucky; Dr. Estella Z. Jones, Leesburg, Virginia; Dr. Guy H. Palmer, Pullman, Washington; Dr. Helena J. Chapman, Arlington, Virginia; Dr. Kelly H. Giesbrecht, Villa Hills, Kentucky; Dr. Michael D. Lairmore, Davis, California; Nancy Chaney, Moscow, Idaho; Dr. Romeo S. Gundran, Muñoz, Philippines; and Dr. Stacy M. Holzbauer, St. Paul, Minnesota


The late Dr. Robert A. Crandell (see obituary, April 15, 2020), a past recipient of the Karl F. Meyer—James H. Steele Gold Headed Cane Award, and the late Dr. Martin P. Hines (see obituary, July 15, 2020), an honorary diplomate of the AVES, were memorialized at the meeting. It was announced that a biography of Dr. James H. Steele, “Animal Health, Human Health, One Health: The Life and Legacy of Dr. James H. Steele,” is available from Amazon and other booksellers. All proceeds will go to the society to help sustain future programs. The society’s website can be accessed to follow recent AVES activities, to learn about the history of the organization, and to make a donation to support programs.

Dr. Carter
Dr. Craig Carter


Dr. Craig Carter, Lexington, Kentucky, president and board member; Dr. Jack Shere, Washington, D.C., president-elect; and board members—Keith Goldman, Secaucus, New Jersey; Dr. Lisa Conti, Tallahassee, Florida; Dr. Ron DeHaven, El Dorado Hills, California; Dr. Bernadette Dunham, Washington, D.C.; Dr. Laura Kahn, Princeton, New Jersey; Dr. Bruce Kaplan, Sarasota, Florida; Dr. Lonnie King, Columbus, Ohio; and Dr. William Stokes, Apex, North Carolina