JAVMA News logo

October 01, 2020

American College of Theriogenologists

Published on
information-circle This article is more than 3 years old


Virtual annual meeting, July 23


Dr. Card
Dr. Claire Card

Theriogenologist of the Year, sponsored by Universal Imaging Inc.
Dr. Claire Card (Cornell ’86), Saskatoon, Saskatchewan. Dr. Card is a professor and a clinician-scientist at the University of Saskatchewan Western College of Veterinary Medicine. She also serves as an equine theriogenologist at the veterinary college’s Veterinary Medical Centre. A diplomate and a past president of the ACT, Dr. Card has served on the board of directors of the Society for Theriogenology, Theriogenology Foundation, and Saskatchewan VMA.

Career Excellence in Theriogenology Award, sponsored by Theriogenology Foundation
Dr. Anita Migday (Ohio State ’80), Framingham, Massachusetts. Dr. Migday owns and serves as hospital director of Slade Veterinary Hospital in Framingham. She is a past chair of the Massachusetts Board of Registration in Veterinary Medicine and a past president of the Theriogenology Foundation.


Changes to the maintenance of certification were presented to clarify requirements and to consider establishing it as a separate document from the general information guide. Proposed changes to the general information guide regarding updates and revisions were discussed. The ACT is continuing efforts to define core competencies in theriogenology for graduating veterinary students. The college expressed appreciation and support for the Theriogenology Foundation’s work in offering residencies in companion animal theriogenology in collaboration with the American Kennel Club and AKC Canine Health Foundation. Two additional residencies are in the selection process, bringing to 14 the total number of residents supported since 2014.

New diplomates

Luis Henrique de Aguiar, Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Rory Gormley, York, England
Viviane Cristine Leite Gomes, Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Daniela Orellana Guerrero, Davis, California
Melissa Prell, Belleview, Florida
Lacey Rosenberg, Ithaca, New York
Agustin Javier Ruiz Olivieri, Mendoza, Argentina

Dr. Vanderwall
Dr. Dirk Vanderwall


Drs. Dirk Vanderwall, Logan, Utah, president; John Dascanio, Amarillo, Texas, president-elect; Sherrie Clark-Deener, Blacksburg, Virginia, vice president; Kara Kolster, Glen Allen, Virginia, secretary; Cheryl Lopate, Aurora, Oregon, treasurer; and Richard Hopper, Auburn, Alabama, immediate past president