JAVMA News logo

May 01, 2020

Minnesota VMA

Published on April 15, 2020
information-circle This article is more than 3 years old

Updated May 21, 2020


Annual meeting, Feb. 20-22, Minneapolis

Dr. Trevor Ames
Dr. Trevor Ames
Dr. Thomas Hagerty
Dr. Thomas Hagerty


Veterinarian of the Year
Dr. Trevor Ames (Saskatchewan ’78), Minneapolis. Dr. Ames is associate vice president of academic health sciences in the Office of the Executive Vice President and Provost at the University of Minnesota. He previously served 12 years as dean of the University of Minnesota College of Veterinary Medicine. While at the veterinary college, Dr. Ames chaired the Department of Veterinary Population Medicine and served as acting chair of the Department of Veterinary Clinical Sciences. He is a diplomate of the American College of Veterinary Internal Medicine.

Outstanding Faculty Award
Dr. Timothy Goldsmith (Minnesota ’01), Wanamingo. Dr. Goldsmith is an associate professor in the Department of Veterinary Population Medicine at the University of Minnesota College of Veterinary Medicine. Earlier in his career, he was in large animal practice, focusing on food animals, working with clients in Minnesota, Iowa, and Wisconsin. Dr. Goldsmith is a diplomate of the American College of Veterinary Preventive Medicine.

Emerging Leader Award
Dr. Jessica Fox (Minnesota ’15), Marshall. Dr. Fox is director of veterinary services and biosecurity at Ralco, a science and technology company catering to the agriculture and aquaculture industries. She has experience in developing health and biosecurity programs for aquaculture production facilities.

President’s Award
Dr. Thomas Hagerty (Minnesota ’59), St. Michael. Dr. Hagerty served as state veterinarian with the Minnesota Board of Animal Health from 1985-2001. Prior to that, he worked in food animal medicine and dairy herd health. Dr. Hagerty is co-chair of the MVMA Governmental Affairs Committee and is a past chair of the AVMA Council on Public Health.

Dr. Matthew Boyle
Dr. Matthew Boyle


Drs. Matthew Boyle, Hager City, Wisconsin, president; Connie Sillerud, Golden Valley, president-elect; Nancy Peterson, New Ulm, vice president; Jim Winsor, Inver Grove Heights, treasurer; and Joni Scheftel, Mayer, immediate past president 

Correction: An earlier version of this article gave the incorrect veterinary college and graduation year for Dr. Jessica Fox.