JAVMA News logo

April 15, 2020

CRWAD marks 100th annual meeting

Published on
information-circle This article is more than 3 years old

The Conference of Research Workers in Animal Diseases held its 100th annual meeting Nov. 2-5 in Chicago. The city of Chicago marked the occasion with a proclamation honoring CRWAD and its years of work.

Since the first CRWAD meeting convened in 1920—as a closed gathering of 11 individuals, mostly directors of experiment stations and deans of U.S. veterinary schools—the conference has evolved into the premier international event on animal health and disease research.

More than 700 scientists attended the 100th annual CRWAD meeting, which featured 17 featured speakers and 270 oral and 220 poster presentations.

CRWAD proclamation presentation
Alderman Joe More (center) presents a proclamation by the city of Chicago honoring the Conference of Research Workers in Animal Diseases to Qijing Zhang, PhD, CRWAD president (left), and Charles Czuprynski, PhD, CRWAD council member (right).


The 2019 CRWAD officers were Qijing Zhang, PhD, Iowa State University, president; Dr. Amelia Woolums, Mississippi State University, vice president; Dr. Christopher Chase, South Dakota State University, immediate past president; Dr. Paul Morley, West Texas A&M University, executive director; and council members—Dr. M.M. Chengappa, Kansas State University; Charles Czuprynski, PhD, University of Wisconsin-Madison; Dr. Annette O’Connor, Michigan State University; and Dr. Philip Griebel, University of Saskatchewan.

AAVI awards

The American Association of Veterinary Immunologists recognized Dr. Bettina Wagner, Cornell University, as the 2019 AAVI Distinguished Veterinary Immunologist.

Recipients of the AAVI student awards for best oral presentations were as follows: Alexandra Gillespie, University of Massachusetts; Carsten Walker, Michigan State University; Jayne Wiarda, Iowa State University; Elizabeth Larson, Cornell University; and Amanda Amaral, North Carolina State University. Best poster presentation was awarded to Shauav Bhattarai, South Dakota State University.

ACVM awards

The American College of Veterinary Microbiologists named Dr. T.J. Nagaraja, Kansas State University, as the 2019 Distinguished Veterinary Microbiologist.

ACVM student award winners were as follows: Don Kahn Award for best overall presentation—Debra Goulart, Iowa State University; best oral presentations—Sara Raabis, University of Wisconsin-Madison, and Syeda Hadi, Michigan State University; best poster presentation—F. Yuan, Kansas State University.

AVEPM awards

The Association for Veterinary Epidemiology and Preventive Medicine presented the Mark Gearhart Memorial Graduate Student Award for best overall graduate student research to Dr. Gizem Levent, Texas A&M University.

Sam Rowe, University of Minnesota; James Ogunrina, Texas A&M University; and Casey Cazer, Cornell University, received awards for best oral presentations. Sneha Jha, Purdue University, won best poster presentation.

Animal Health Institute and Joseph J. Garbarino Foundation

Best oral presentation was by Ting-Yu Cheng, Iowa State University, and best poster presentations were by Emily John, University of Prince Edward Island, and Babiana Benavides, University of Narino.

American Association of Veterinary Parasitology awards

The best oral presentation was presented by Megan Wright, University of Tennessee.

NC1202 awards

The NC1202 North Central Multistate Committee for Research on Enteric Diseases of Swine and Cattle made the following student awards: Lynn Joens Award, first place, oral—Raquel Burin, Washington State University; second place, oral—Frances Shepherd, University of Minnesota.

The David H. Francis award for best poster presentation was given to Brandon Ruddell, Iowa State University.