JAVMA News logo

March 01, 2020

Wisconsin VMA

Published on February 12, 2020


Annual meeting, Oct. 24, online; awards ceremony, Nov. 3, Madison


Dr. Cook
Dr. Nigel Cook

Veterinarian of the Year
Dr. Nigel Cook, Madison. A 1992 veterinary graduate of the University of Bristol in England, Dr. Cook is head of the Department of Medical Sciences at the University of Wisconsin-Madison School of Veterinary Medicine. He also manages Dairyland Initiative, an online resource that aims to optimize dairy cow health, performance, and well-being in order to create an economically viable and competitive dairy industry for all members of a dairy team.

Presidential Award
Dr. Douglas Kratt (Wisconsin ’98), Onalaska. Dr. Kratt owns Central Animal Hospital, a small animal practice in Onalaska. He is president-elect of the AVMA and has served on the AVMA House Advisory Committee, Strategic Management Committee, and Task Force on Volunteer Engagement. Dr. Kratt is a past president of the WIVMA.

Meritorious Service Award
Dr. Eric Rooker (Wisconsin ’13), Waldo. Dr. Rooker practices at Dairy Doctors Veterinary Services in Plymouth. He is working with the WIVMA to establish a leadership and business program.

Outstanding Service Award
Dr. Philip Johnson (Iowa State ’81), Winneconne. Dr. Johnson practices at Omro Animal Hospital in Omro. He is a past chair of the Wisconsin Veterinary Examining Board and a past president of the WIVMA.

Outstanding Service Team
Country Hills Pet Hospital, Eden. The hospital serves as a resource for members of 4-H and scouts clubs, animal shelters, and schools. It also works with schools of technology to help students meet prerequisites for classes and fulfill externship requirements.

Veterinary Health Care Team Member of the Year
Jim Martin, Cedarburg. Martin is a customer service specialist at the Thiensville-Mequon Small Animal Clinic in Thiensville. He is known for his willingness to assist clients and fellow staff members.

Friend of Veterinary Medicine
Kristi Thorson, McFarland. Thorson is the associate dean for advancement and administration at the University of Wisconsin-Madison School of Veterinary Medicine. She was instrumental in helping get the veterinary school’s expansion project approved.


The financial report was presented.

Dr. Sherwood Zieser
Dr. Ann Sherwood Zieser


Drs. Ann Sherwood Zieser, Lodi, president; Thomas Bach, Madison, president-elect; David Jeans, Evansville, treasurer; and Alan Holter, Dodgeville, immediate past president