JAVMA News logo

March 01, 2020

American Association of Feline Practitioners

Published on
information-circle This article is more than 3 years old


Annual conference, Oct. 31-Nov. 3, San Francisco


The conference, held during the 5th World Feline Veterinary Conference, focused on complex disease management. Attendees included 1,171 veterinarians, 166 veterinary technicians, 42 practice managers and hospital team members, 58 students, and more than 250 exhibitors and guests. On offer were educational sessions, including scientific research posters and oral abstract presentations; a feline-friendly handling laboratory; and opportunities to network with colleagues on feline medicine.


Dr. Lester
Dr. Sally Lester

Journal of Feline Medicine and Surgery 20th Anniversary Award
Dr. Sally Lester (Washington State ’67), Lake Stevens, Washington, for exceptional contributions to the journal in advancement of veterinary health care for cats around the world during the last two decades. A member of the JFMS editorial board for several years, Dr. Lester has reviewed the greatest number of articles for the journal since the association began to keep track in 2012. She is the founder of Central Laboratory for Veterinarians in Langley, British Columbia, and has served as a contributor to the Veterinary Information Network. Dual-certified in anatomic and clinical pathology by the American College of Veterinary Pathologists, Dr. Lester advises practitioners on the pitfalls of sample collection and handling, laboratory equipment, and what should be taken into consideration when interpreting laboratory results that may impact management and outcome for patients. She has also developed diagnostic tests to help veterinarians care for their patients.

Student Feline Enrichment Contest, sponsored by Purina Pro Plan Veterinary Diets
Winners: Jennifer Nary, Texas A&M University; Kate Rowatt, Texas A&M University; Samia Shalabi, University of Missouri; and Roxana Chan, University of Missouri

In addition to the above awards, a student award program, sponsored by Kindred Bio, and a Young Veterinarian Scholarship, sponsored by Royal Canin, provided several students and veterinarians access to education and networking at the conference.


Dr. St. Denis
Dr. Kelly St. Denis

Drs. Kelly St. Denis, Brantford, Ontario, president; Michelle Meyer, Sterling Heights, Michigan, president-elect; Colleen Currigan, Chicago, treasurer; Apryl Steele, Denver, immediate past-president and AVMA alternate delegate; Marcus Brown, Arlington, Virginia, AVMA delegate and director; and directors—Drs. Lauren Demos, Waterford, Michigan; Diana Lafer, West Hartford, Connecticut; Ken Lambrecht, Madison, Wisconsin; Paula Monroe-Aldridge, Tulsa, Oklahoma; Kira Ramdas, The Woodlands, Texas; and Tammy Sadek, Grand Rapids, Michigan