JAVMA News logo

January 01, 2020

World Small Animal Veterinary Association

Published on
information-circle This article is more than 3 years old
Dr. DiBartola
Dr. Stephen DiBartola
Dr. Lem
Dr. Michelle Lem
Dr. Courtney
Dr. Cynthia “Cyndie” Courtney
Dr. Bain
Dr. Melissa Bain


44th World Small Animal Veterinary Association Congress, July 16-19, 2019, Toronto


The congress attracted 2,200 attendees. More than 100 speakers presented lectures, including presentations from 2019 WSAVA awardees. The association’s annual VIP Summit tackled the global issue of veterinarians having equal access to medications. A new feature at the Congress, the WSAVA Shaping the Future lectures and panel discussions, focused on veterinary well-being.


WSAVA International Award for Scientific Achievement
Dr. Stephen DiBartola (California-Davis ’76), Columbus, Ohio, for his contributions to small animal clinical practice, particularly in the areas of nephrology and acid-base disorders. A diplomate of the American College of Veterinary Internal Medicine, Dr. DiBartola is professor emeritus in the Department of Veterinary Clinical Sciences at The Ohio State University College of Veterinary Medicine. His research helped characterize familial renal amyloidosis in Abyssinian cats and polycystic kidney disease in Persian cats. Dr. DiBartola has served more than 20 years as co–editor-in-chief of the Journal of Veterinary Internal Medicine, and he authored the textbook “Fluid, Electrolyte, and Acid-Base Disorders in Small Animal Practice.”

WSAVA Global One Health Award
Dr. Michelle Lem (Guelph ’01), Ottawa, Ontario, for founding the charity Community Veterinary Outreach. The charity cares for the pets of homeless people and of those in need. It also provides preventive health care, education, and support to the pet owners. In addition to establishing CVO, Dr. Lem has practiced companion animal medicine in Ottawa and New Zealand.

WSAVA Hill’s Next Generation Award
Dr. Cynthia “Cyndie” Courtney (Virginia-Maryland ’11), Lawrence, Kansas, won this award, recognizing the work of a veterinarian who has graduated within the past 10 years and has contributed significantly to the betterment of companion animals, the veterinary profession, and society at large. Dr. Courtney is an associate veterinarian at Grandview Animal Hospital in Grandview, Missouri, also serving as a field veterinarian for Nationwide Pet Insurance. She has established two veterinary-related social media platforms, focusing on personal wellness, wellness of animal health care teams, and veterinary business skills. Dr. Courtney has also helped facilitate a textbook drive for developing nations and collaborates with the Women’s Veterinary Leadership Initiative and Snout Squad in the empowerment of women in the veterinary profession.

WSAVA Award for Companion Animal Welfare
Dr. Melissa Bain (Illinois ’94), Davis, California, for her contributions to animal welfare through the process of integrating the field of human-animal interactions with veterinary clinical behavior. Dr. Bain is a professor of clinical animal behavior at the University of California-Davis School of Veterinary Medicine, where she also serves as director of professional student clinical education. She is a diplomate of the American College of Veterinary Behaviorists and American College of Animal Welfare and is a past president of the ACVB and American Veterinary Society of Animal Behaviorists.


The WSAVA welcomed six new members, bringing its total membership to 113 associations, representing more than 200,000 veterinary professionals worldwide. The new members are veterinary education provider AO Vet, National Association of Veterinary Technicians in America, Council of the Association of Veterinary Medicine and Veterinary Technicians of Haiti, Tanzania Small Animal Veterinary Organization, Caribbean VMA, and Emirates Veterinary Association. The Kenya Small and Companion Animal Veterinary Association, previously an associate member, is now a full member.

Dr. Ryan
Dr. Shane Ryan
Dr. Chunekamrai
Dr. Siraya Chunekamrai


Drs. Shane Ryan, Singapore, president; Siraya Chunekamrai, Bangkok, vice president; Walt Ingwersen, Dundas, Ontario, immediate past president; Michael Day, Cheddar, England, honorary treasurer; Renee Chalmers Hoynck van Papendrecht, Den Helder, Netherlands, honorary secretary; and board members—Drs. Ellen van Nierop, Quito, Ecuador, and Felisbina Queiroga, Vila Real, Portugal