American Association of Bovine Practitioners

Published on
information-circle This article is more than 3 years old
Dr. Anderson
Dr. Arn Anderson
Dr. Telgen
Dr. Carie Telgen
Dr. Hunsaker
Dr. Breck Hunsaker
Dr. Middleton​
Dr. Gabe Middleton​
Dr. Navarre
Dr. Christine Navarre
Dr. Guard
Dr. Chuck Guard
Dr. Godden
Dr. Sandra Godden
Dr. Booker
Dr. Calvin Booker


52nd annual conference, Sept. 12-14, St. Louis


The conference drew 1,934 attendees, including 375 student members. Continuing education included sessions from the American Association of Small Ruminant Practitioners and National Mastitis Council. Drs. Dan Grooms, Ames, Iowa, and Callie Willingham, Okotoks, Alberta, presented the keynote address “What is Success?” Frank Mitloehner, PhD, University of California-Davis, spoke about the environmental impacts of cattle production, and Dr. Bill Flynn, Food and Drug Administration Center for Veterinary Medicine, provided an update on the FDA’s five-year plan.


Boehringer Ingelheim Bovine Practitioner of the Year
Dr. Arn Anderson (Virginia-Maryland ’91), Bowie, Texas, for exemplifying practice excellence, leadership, and service. Dr. Anderson owns Cross Timbers Veterinary Hospital in Bowie with five rural locations. A diplomate of the American Board of Veterinary Practitioners, he provides herd health management services to several beef cattle operations in north Texas.

James A. Jarrett Award for Young Leaders
Dr. Carie Telgen (Purdue ’09), Greenwich, New York, won this award, given to a member who has graduated in the past 10 years and exemplifies leadership via significant contributions to the association. Dr. Telgen is a managing partner at Battenkill Veterinary Bovine in Greenwich. President-elect of the AABP, she has served on several of its committees.

Boehringer Ingelheim Excellence in Preventive Medicine Award—Beef
Dr. Breck Hunsaker (Washington State ’91), Preston, Idaho. Dr. Hunsaker is a managing partner at Feedlot Health Services USA in Preston, offering consulting and research services for beef cattle. His career has focused on beef cattle production, both as a veterinarian and as a producer.

Boehringer Ingelheim Excellence in Preventive Medicine Award—Cattle
Dr. Gabe Middleton (Ohio State ’08), Orrville, Ohio. Dr. Middleton is a partner at Orrville Veterinary Clinic, where he focuses on bovine, equine, and small ruminant medicine. He serves as chair of the AABP Membership Committee, is president of the Council for Agricultural Science and Technology, and is co-president of Ohio Dairy Veterinarians.

Zoetis Distinguished Service Award
Dr. Christine Navarre (Louisiana State ’90), Baton Rouge, Louisiana. Dr. Navarre is a professor in the Department of Veterinary Clinical Sciences and serves as extension veterinarian at the Louisiana State University School of Veterinary Medicine. A past president of the AABP and North American Veterinary Community, she serves as parliamentarian of the AABP. Dr. Navarre participated in the AABP Rural Veterinary Medicine Task Force. Her research on beef cattle production focuses on internal parasite control, bull management, and trichomoniasis.

Merck Animal Health Mentor of the Year Award
Dr. Chuck Guard (Cornell ’80), Lansing, New York. A large animal veterinarian, Dr. Guard worked in the Ambulatory and Production Medicine Clinic at Cornell University for 28 years prior to retirement. He was instrumental in the design and construction of the Cornell Teaching Dairy Barn. Dr. Guard’s research has focused on cattle lameness, evaluation of management procedures for routine activities, and interventions for common diseases.

AABP Award for Excellence
Dr. Sandra Godden (Guelph ’93), St. Paul, Minnesota. Dr. Godden is a professor in the Department of Veterinary Population Medicine at the University of Minnesota College of Veterinary Medicine. Her research focuses on mastitis prevention and control, calf health management, and antimicrobial stewardship. Dr. Godden is a past president of the National Mastitis Council.


Drs. Calvin Booker, Okotoks, Alberta, president; Carie Telgen, Greenwich, New York, president-elect; Pat Gorden, Ames, Iowa, vice president; Bryan Halteman, Turlock, California, treasurer; and Glen Rogers, Graford, Texas, immediate past president