Society for Theriogenology

Published on September 11, 2019
Dr. Tibary
Dr. Ahmed Tibary
Dr. Sheerin
Dr. Pete Sheerin
Dr. Palmer
Dr. Colin Palmer
Dr. Smith
Dr. Jack Smith​


Annual conference, July 24-27, Savannah, Georgia


The plenary sessions were "A primer to genome editing" by Dr. Claudia Klein, Calgary, Alberta, and "Metabolic and environmental effects on the embryo epigenome" by Dr. Pablo Ross, Davis, California, both sponsored by the American College of Theriogenologists. Forty scientific abstracts, 23 poster presentations, eight case reports, and six case presentations by veterinary students were provided during various sessions at the conference.


David Bartlett Honorary Address
Dr. Ahmed Tibary, Pullman, Washington, presented the address. A 1980 graduate of the Agronomic and Veterinary Institute Hassan II in Rabat, Morocco, Dr. Tibary serves as a professor of theriogenology at the Washington State University College of Veterinary Medicine. He is a diplomate of the ACT and serves as vice president of the SFT. Dr. Tibary was recognized for his devotion to excellence in teaching and conducting research in theriogenology and for his clinical expertise in equine, ruminant, and camelid reproduction.

Dr. John Steiner Award for Excellence in Practice
Dr. Pete Sheerin (Florida '94), New Freedom, Pennsylvania. Dr. Sheerin practices equine medicine at Nandi Veterinary Associates in New Freedom. He is a diplomate of the ACT. Dr. Sheerin was honored for his clinical expertise in reproduction of horses and for his service to the discipline.

Dr. Jerry Rains Memorial Abstract Competition, sponsored by Merck Animal Health
First place ($1,000)—Carleigh Fedorka, Lexington, Kentucky, for "Fetal and maternal immune response to ascending placentitis"; second place ($750)—Mackenzie Roberts, Corvallis, Oregon, for "Genomic testing does not correlate with performance trait phenotype in crossbred calves"; third place ($500)—Chun Kuen Mak, Baton Rouge, Louisiana, for "Reproductive hormones of pregnant mares in early aluteal cycles and reproductive parameters of post-treatment cycles"; and fourth place ($250)—Zachary Turner, Athens, Georgia, for "Cryosurvival of epididymal and ejaculated bovine spermatozoa frozen in liposome- and egg yolk–based extenders"

Veterinary Student Case Presentation Competition
First place ($650)—Breanthony Baker, Texas A&M University, for "Spermatic cord enlargement due to lymphangioma"; second place ($525)—Katelyn Kimble, Texas A&M University, for "Subfertility in a stallion caused by a genetic mutation affecting the acrosome reaction"; third place ($450)—Colleen Kutzler, University of Minnesota, for "Dystocia due to schistosomus reflexus in a Miniature Dachshund"; fourth place ($375)—Nichole Whitfill, Auburn University, for "A case of testicular torsion in a 1.5 year old intact Cane Corso"; fifth place ($300)—Lindsay Hilburger, Cornell University, for "Idiopathic infertility in a Friesian stallion"; and sixth place ($200)—Gabrielle Montone, Auburn University, for "Prolonged estrus in a 17 month old intact Doberman"

Student Chapter of the Year Award
First place ($1,000 and a banner)—Auburn University; and second place ($500)—Lincoln Memorial University

T-shirt Design Contest
First place ($300)—Auburn University; and second place ($100)—Texas A&M University

Student Quiz Bowl, sponsored by Merck Animal Health
First place ($300)—Auburn University; and second place ($100)—Texas A&M University


The society amended the bylaws to include licensed veterinary technicians as nonvoting members of the SFT. The society also initiated new programs in education and continued its efforts to support veterinary student initiatives and projects of the Theriogenology Foundation. The foundation announced residencies in companion animal theriogenology at Colorado State University, the University of Missouri, and The Ohio State University, beginning in 2020, and will be continuing its efforts on canine genomics through the Working Dog Project.


Drs. Colin Palmer, Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, president; Jack Smith, Starkville, Mississippi, president-elect; Ahmed Tibary, Pullman, Washington, vice president; Candace Lyman, Stillwater, Oklahoma, secretary-treasurer; Robyn Wilborn, Auburn, Alabama, immediate past president; and board members—Drs. Hilari French, Miramar, Florida; Heath King, Mississippi State, Mississippi; and Wendy Vaala, Alma, Wisconsin

Related JAVMA content:

American College of Theriogenologists (Oct 1, 2019)

Project intended to improve working dog breeding (Nov. 1, 2017)