Joint pathology meeting

Published on
information-circle This article is more than 3 years old


American College of Veterinary Pathologists, American Society for Veterinary Clinical Pathology, joint annual meetings, Nov. 3-7, Washington, D.C.


The ACVP program included pre- and post-meeting workshops, minisymposiums, joint plenary sessions, scientific sessions, and specialty group sessions. The ASVCP held pre-meeting workshops and scientific, educational, and clinical sessions.


ACVP Presidential Award
Dr. R. Keith Harris, Athens, Georgia; Dr. Evan Janovitz, Pennington, New Jersey; Rebecca L. Johnson, MD, Tampa, Florida; and Jane Shepard, Madison, Wisconsin

ACVP Honorary Membership
Drs. Stephen DiBartola, Columbus, Ohio, and Karen Young, Madison, Wisconsin

ACVP Distinguished Membership
Dr. Stephen Barthold, Davis, California

ASVCP Lifetime Achievement Award
Dr. Steven L. Stockham (Kansas State '72), St. George, Kansas. A diplomate of the ACVP, Dr. Stockham served as a professor of veterinary clinical pathology at Kansas State University College of Veterinary Medicine from 2001-16, retiring as professor emeritus. Prior to that, he taught at the University of Missouri College of Veterinary Medicine for 20 years. Dr. Stockham is an honorary member of the European College of Veterinary Clinical Pathology and an inductee to the European Society of Veterinary Clinical Pathology's Hall of Fame. He authored the textbook "Fundamentals of Veterinary Clinical Pathology."

ASVCP Educator Award
Dr. Tracy Stokol (Melbourne '87), Ithaca, New York. Dr. Stokol serves as a professor in the Department of Population Medicine and Diagnostic Sciences at the Cornell University College of Veterinary Medicine. She is a diplomate of the ACVP and maintains the website, which serves as a free educational resource on veterinary clinical pathology. Dr. Stokol mentors students for summer research programs and provides training in clinical pathology to veterinarians from developing countries.

ASVCP Early Career Award
Dr. Laureen Peters, Hatfield, England, won this award, honoring an ASVCP member in the early stages of his or her career who shows exceptional promise in the discipline of veterinary clinical pathology through efforts in research, diagnostic service, teaching, and service to the society. Dr. Peters is a 2009 veterinary graduate of the University of Bern in Switzerland and serves as a lecturer in clinical pathology at the Royal Veterinary College in London. She is a diplomate of the ACVP.


ACVP: Drs. Dorothee Bienzle, Guelph, Ontario, president; Susan Tornquist, Corvallis, Oregon, president-elect; Mark Ackermann, Corvallis, Oregon, secretary-treasurer; Amy Durham, Philadelphia, secretary-treasurer–elect; Krista La Perle, Columbus, Ohio, immediate past president; and councilors—Drs. Karen Terio, Brookfield, Illinois; Kirstin Barnhart, Alice, Texas; Jerry Ritchey, Stillwater, Oklahoma; and Anne Provencher, Sherbrooke, Quebec. ASVCP: Drs. Julie Webb, Markham, Ontario, president; Amy Warren, Calgary, Alberta, president-elect; Melinda Camus, Athens, Georgia, secretary; Sarah Beatty, Gainesville, Florida, treasurer; Kurt Zimmerman, Blacksburg, Virginia, immediate past president; and board members—Drs. Sharon Dial, Tucson, Arizona; Erica Behling-Kelly, Ithaca, New York; and Laura Snyder, Marshfield, Wisconsin