Missouri VMA

Published on
information-circle This article is more than 3 years old
Dr. Barry
Dr. Charles L. Barry
Dr. Ryan
Dr. Carol Ryan


127th annual convention, Jan. 24-27, Columbia


The convention offered more than 60 continuing education lectures and drew more than 600 attendees.


Veterinarian of the Year
Dr. Charles L. Barry (Missouri '87), Warrensburg. Dr. Barry owns Lifetime Animal Center, a mixed animal practice in Warrensburg. He is a past president of the Missouri VMA and Missouri VMA Academy and a past chair of the Missouri Veterinary Medical Board.

President's Award
Dr. Abby Whiting (Missouri '11), St. Louis. Dr. Whiting practices at Veterinary Specialty Services in St. Louis. She also serves as a moderator for Not One More Vet, an online veterinary support group.

William A. Wolff Volunteerism Award
The Christian Veterinary Mission was honored for its service to veterinary medicine in Missouri and around the world.

Missouri Veterinary Medical Foundation Distinguished Service Award
Dr. William Shore (Missouri '79), Woodstock, Georgia. Dr. Shore owned Brentwood Animal Hospital in St. Louis prior to retirement. He is a past chair of the MVMF.

Missouri VMA Academy Distinguished Service Award
Julie Braun, Osage Bend. Braun has worked for the MVMA for the past 13 years and serves as the association's operations manager.


MVMA—Dr. Carol Ryan, Troy, president; Dr. David L. Gourley, Mountain Grove, president-elect; Dr. Marcy Hammerle, O'Fallon, vice president; Dr. Shelia L. Taylor, Springfield, secretary-treasurer; Dr. Cynthia Vedder-Penrod, Fulton, board chair and immediate past president; and Richard D. Antweiler, Jefferson City, executive director. Missouri VMA Academy—Drs. Bruce Whittle, Trenton, president; Julie King, Ozark, vice president; and Jessica Stroupe, Armstrong, immediate past president. MVMF—Drs. Philip R. Brown, Chillicothe, board chair; Scott Fray, Boonville, board vice chair; George Buckloo, Lake Tapawingo, secretary-treasurer; William J. Shore, St. Louis, immediate past chair; and Roger Dozier, Jefferson City, museum director