United States Animal Health Association

Published on
information-circle This article is more than 3 years old
Dr. Hoenig
Dr. Donald Hoenig
Dr. Rhyan
Dr. Jack Rhyan
Dr. Schwartz
Dr. Andy Schwartz
Dr. Schmitt
Dr. David Schmitt


122nd annual meeting, Oct. 18-24, 2018, Kansas City, Missouri


The meeting, held jointly with the American Association of Veterinary Laboratory Diagnosticians (see story), drew nearly 1,300 attendees. The joint plenary session, "Strategic Collaborations to Support Agrodefense," featured several key speakers. Greg Ibach, undersecretary for the Department of Agriculture's marketing and regulatory programs, spoke on "Emphasis on 2018 Farm Bill, Animal Disease Traceability, & African Swine Fever." Dr. Stephen W. Goldsmith and Kathleen Giles of the FBI Weapons of Mass Destruction Directorate presented "Agricultural Threats—Biosecurity and Espionage." Cody Bruce, deputy director and lead cyberintelligence analyst for the Kansas Intelligence Fusion Center, and Dr. Marty Vanier, director of strategic partnership development for the National Bio and Agro-Defense Facility, spoke on "Fusion Centers and Biosecurity Partnerships: Lessons Learned from Cross-Disciplinary Collaboration." Scott Linsky of the USDA Office of Homeland Security, and Dr. Elizabeth Lautner, associate deputy administrator for diagnostics and biologics at the USDA Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service Veterinary Services, presented "Leveraging Partnerships at the Office of Homeland Security and NBAF to Protect the Food and Ag Sector." Julian Rosenberg, PhD, director of research and technology development for The Sabre Companies, presented "From Bioterrorism Response to Farm Biosecurity: Adapting High-Level Decontamination Technology to Animal Disease Outbreak and Prevention." Also part of the program was a special session featuring Dr. Monique Eloit, director general of the World Organisation for Animal Health (OIE), who shared the vision and strategic plan of the OIE.


USAHA Medal of Distinction
Dr. Donald Hoenig (Pennsylvania '78), Belfast, Maine. Dr. Hoenig is a former Maine state and extension veterinarian who now owns a consulting practice in Belfast. A past president of the USAHA, he was recognized for exemplary and continued service to the organization and to animal-related industries.

USAHA Federal Partnership Award
Dr. Jack Rhyan (Auburn '75), Fort Collins, Colorado. A wildlife pathologist with the Department of Agriculture Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service Veterinary Services, Dr. Rhyan leads the Wildlife/Livestock Disease Investigations Team. Earlier, he worked at the National Veterinary Services Laboratories in Ames, Iowa. Dr. Rhyan is known for his expertise in brucellosis and wildlife reservoirs.

APHIS Administrator's Award
Dr. Andy Schwartz (Texas A&M '88), Austin, Texas. Dr. Schwartz is Texas state veterinarian and executive director of the Texas Animal Health Commission. He was recognized for his work as state veterinarian, notably his leadership on programs to prevent the spread of cattle fever ticks.

National Assembly Award
Dr. David Schmitt (Iowa State '73), Ankeny, Iowa. Dr. Schmitt has served as Iowa state veterinarian since 2008. A past president of the USAHA, he was honored for his service as state veterinarian and his contributions to the National Assembly of State Animal Health Officials.


Twenty-three resolutions have been approved and can be viewed at the USAHA website.


Dr. Kristin Haas, Montpelier, Vermont, president; Dr. Martin Zaluski, Helena, Montana, president-elect; Dr. Charles Hatcher, Nashville, Tennessee, first vice president; Dr. Dustin Oedekoven, Pierre, South Dakota, second vice president; Steve Rommereim, Alcester, South Dakota, third vice president; Dr. Annette Jones, Sacramento, California, treasurer; and Barbara Determan, Early, Iowa, immediate past president