Nebraska VMA

Published on
information-circle This article is more than 3 years old
Dr. Gigstad III
Dr. Alfred Orval Gigstad III
Dr. Farrington
Dr. Elizabeth Farrington
Ms. Burke
Shawna Burke


Annual meeting, Jan. 24-26, Kearney


Veterinarian of the Year
Dr. Alfred Orval Gigstad III (Kansas State '76), Syracuse. Dr. Gigstad owns Arbor Valley Animal Clinic in Syracuse. He is a diplomate of the American Board of Veterinary Practitioners and a past president of the Nebraska VMA.

Rising Star Award
Dr. Elizabeth Farrington (Iowa State '11), Omaha. Dr. Farrington works for the Nebraska Humane Society in Omaha. She serves on the Nebraska Board of Veterinary Medicine and Surgery and is a past member of the University of Nebraska-Lincoln Professional Program in Veterinary Medicine Admissions Committee and Nebraska Prescription Drug Monitoring Program task force.

Outstanding Licensed Veterinary Technician Award
Shawna Burke, Lincoln. Burke is director of education at the Nebraska Animal Medical Center in Lincoln. She has a special interest in critical care, emergency, cardiology, neurology, and anesthesia.


Drs. Larry Henning, Gretna, president; Jeremy Young, Albion, president-elect; Steve Krull, Curtis, secretary-treasurer; and Victoria Winfield, Hastings, immediate past president