Puerto Rico VMA

Published on
information-circle This article is more than 3 years old
Dr. Gonzalez
Dr. Cesar Gonzalez
Dr. Rodríguez
Dr. Javier Rodríguez
Dr. Piñero
Dr. Frances Piñero


Annual convention, Aug. 24-26, Ponce


The convention was dedicated to Dr. Cesar Gonzalez (Kansas State '67), San Juan, recognizing a lifetime of dedication to organized veterinary medicine, animal welfare, and animal control. Dr. Gonzalez has served as director of the Animal Control Center of the city of Carolina for the past 20 years. As director, he has promoted animal welfare and responsible ownership of pets. A past president of the PRVMA, Dr. Gonzalez was a member of the AVMA Council on Veterinary Service from 1992-98 and has served on the Puerto Rico Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners.


Drs. Javier Rodríguez, Caguas, president; Frances Piñero, San Juan, president-elect; Juan Luis Ferrer, Guaynabo, secretary; Edgardo Mercado, Arecibo, treasurer; Walter E. Colón Lilley, Caguas, immediate past president; and AVMA delegate and alternate delegate—Drs. Juan Pablo Amieiro, Carolina, and Ricardo Fernández, Bayamon