American Association of Zoo Veterinarians

Published on
information-circle This article is more than 3 years old
Dr. Armstrong
Dr. Doug Armstrong
Dr. Bush
Dr. Mitchell Bush


50th annual conference, Oct. 6-12, Prague


The conference, held in conjunction with the European Association of Zoo and Wildlife Veterinarians and the Leibniz Institute for Zoo and Wildlife Research, drew 600 attendees.


Emil Dolensek Award
Dr. Doug Armstrong (Iowa State '80), Omaha, Nebraska, won this award, given in honor of exceptional contributions to the conservation, care, and understanding of zoo and free-ranging wildlife. Dr. Armstrong is director of animal health at the Henry Doorly Zoo & Aquarium in Omaha, Nebraska. He also serves as veterinary adviser for the Association of Zoos and Aquariums' Tiger Species Survival Plan. Dr. Armstrong has mentored graduate students and interns throughout his career.

Murray Fowler Lifetime Achievement Award
Dr. Mitchell Bush (California-Davis '65), Flagstaff, Arizona, for exceptional commitment and contributions to the American College of Zoological Medicine and a lifetime of contributions that have advanced the discipline of zoological medicine. Dr. Bush is senior veterinarian emeritus at the Smithsonian Institution's National Zoological Park in Washington, D.C., where he worked for more than 40 years. During that time, he established one of the first postgraduate clinical internships in zoological medicine at the park, served as chief of veterinary services at what is now known as the Smithsonian Conservation Biology Institute, and developed clinical and research programs in zoological medicine within the park's Department of Animal Health. Dr. Bush is a charter diplomate of the ACZM and a past president of the AAZV.

Linda Munson Pathology Manuscript Award
Dr. Chloe Steventon, Charles Sturt University, Australia, for "Steroidal saponin toxicity in eastern grey kangaroos (Macropus giganteus): A novel clinicopathologic presentation of hepatogenous photosensitization."

Postgraduate manuscript competition
Dr. Eva Greunz, Copenhagen Zoo, Denmark, won first place for "Intracardiac shunting affects minimal alveolar concentration of isoflurane in the red footed tortoise (Chelonoidis carbonarius)," and Dr. Jennifer Kishbaugh, Smithsonian Institution, won second place for "Evaluation of platelet transport in Asian elephants (Elephas maximus) as part of an ongoing study targeting novel EEHV-HD treatment."

Animal Necessity Graduate Award
Kathryn Perrin, PhD, Copenhagen Zoo, Denmark, for "How insensitive are population-based reference intervals for monitoring hematologic changes in Asian elephants."

Manuscript Award
Dr. Lori S.H. Westmoreland, North Carolina State University, for "Altered acrylic acid concentrations in hard and soft corals exposed to deteriorating water conditions."


Drs. Julie Napier, Omaha, Nebraska, president; Leigh Clayton, Severna Park, Maryland, president-elect; Jessica Siegal-Willott, Alexandria, Virginia, vice president; Michelle Davis, Atlanta, secretary; Lauren Howard, San Diego, treasurer; and Michael J. Adkesson, Brookfield, Illinois, immediate past president