Kentucky VMA

Published on December 31, 2018
information-circle This article is more than 3 years old
Dr. Rizzo
Dr. Scott Rizzo
Dr. Prater
Dr. Philip Prater


Annual meeting, Sept. 28-30, 2018, Louisville


Veterinarian of the Year
Dr. Scott Rizzo (Colorado State '05), Louisville. Dr. Rizzo is a co-founder of Louisville Veterinary Specialty and Emergency Services, which merged with BluePearl Veterinary Partners in 2012. He has led efforts to educate veterinarians in Kentucky about issues facing the profession, including canine influenza outbreaks and controlled-drug compliance. Dr. Rizzo is a diplomate of the American College of Veterinary Internal Medicine.

Distinguished Service Award
Dr. Philip Prater (Ohio State '84), Morehead. Dr. Prater is a professor of veterinary technology at Morehead State University. A diplomate of the American College of Theriogenologists, he has served on the college's executive board and chaired its public relations committee. Dr. Prater is chair of the KVMA Emergency Preparedness Committee and a member of the KVMA Legislative and Food Animal committees. He also serves on the advisory boards of the Kentucky Cattleman's Association, Kentucky Beef Network, and Kentucky Department of Agriculture Market Development.

LaBore Award
Louise Cook, Cynthiana, won this honorary award, given for outstanding contributions to the association. Cook began working for the KVMA in 1987 and served as executive director of the association from 2001 until retirement in 2018. She was honored for her leadership, service, and loyalty for more than 30 years to the veterinary profession and veterinarians in Kentucky.


Drs. Jennifer K. Quammen, Walton, president; Bonnie Barr, Lexington, president-elect; Deborah Shoulders, Bowling Green, vice president; Douglas Peterson, Shelbyville, immediate past president; and Brigette Dean-Hines, Shelbyville, secretary-treasurer