Association of Avian Veterinarians

Published on
information-circle This article is more than 3 years old
Dr. Doneley
Dr. Robert Doneley
Dr. Harris
Dr. James Harris
Dr. Bronson
Dr. Ellen Bronson
Dr. Barron
Dr. Heather Barron


Dr. van Zeeland
Dr. Yvonne van Zeeland
Dr. Mackey
Dr. Elizabeth B. Mackey


Annual meeting, Sept. 22-27, 2018, Atlanta


Dr. T.J. Lafeber Avian Practitioner Award
Dr. Robert Doneley (Queensland '82), Gatton, Australia, for advancing the quality of health care for companion birds. Dr. Doneley serves as an associate professor and heads the Avian and Exotic Pet Service at the University of Queensland School of Veterinary Science. Earlier, he owned West Toowomba Veterinary Surgery in Harristown, Australia, for 22 years. Dr. Doneley is president of the avian health chapter of the Australian and New Zealand College of Veterinary Scientists and vice president of the Australian Veterinary Association.

AAV Lifetime Membership Award
Dr. James Harris (Michigan State '58), Sandy Bay, Australia. Dr. Harris owns a small animal and exotic practice in Hobart, Australia. Prior to that, he owned a practice in Oakland, California, for 40 years. A past president of the AAV, he is a member of the association's International, Research, Conservation, and Avian Welfare committees, and he serves as the AAV Australasian Committee's liaison to the AAV.

AAV Avian Companion and Wild Bird Health Grants
Dr. Ellen Bronson, Maryland Zoo, Baltimore, was awarded $9,952 for "Pharmacokinetics of the antimalarial drug primaquine in African penguins (Spheniscus demersus)"; and Dr. Heather Barron, Clinic for the Rehabilitation of Wildlife, Sanibel, Florida, was awarded $5,000 for "Use of intravenous lipid emulsion therapy as a novel treatment for brevetoxicosis in double-crested cormorants (Phalacrocorax auratus)."

Donald W. Zantop Memorial Lecture Award
Dr. David Sanchez-Migallon Guzman, Davis, California, for "Evaluation of the thermal antinociceptive effects and PK of hydromorphine in orange-winged Amazons."

Speakers of the Year
Drs. Yvonne van Zeeland and Nico Schoemaker, Utrecht, Netherlands, for "Applying Critical Thinking & Clinical Reasoning in Avian Medicine."

Student Manuscript Contest Award
Zoe van der Plaats, Utrecht University, Netherlands, for "Relationship between blood lead concentrations and occurrence of trauma in wild bald eagles (Haliaeetus leucocephalus) admitted to wildlife rehabilitation centers."

AAV President's Service Appreciation Award
Dr. Steven Metz, Shelburne, Vermont


Drs. Yvonne van Zeeland, Utrecht, Netherlands, president; Elizabeth B. Mackey, Athens, Georgia, president-elect; Michael Lutz, Nashville, Tennessee, treasurer; and Lauren V. Powers, Huntersville, North Carolina, immediate past president and conference chair