Florida VMA

Published on
information-circle This article is more than 3 years old
Dr. Dee
Dr. Larry G. Dee
Dr. Blackwood
Dr. Jack L. Blackwood
Dr. Vargas
Dr. Mitsie Vargas
Dr. Presnell
Dr. Marc A. Presnell


Dr. Epperson
Dr. Michael Epperson

Event: Annual meeting, April 5-8, Tampa
Awards: President's Award: Dr. Larry G. Dee, Fort Lauderdale. Dr. Dee (Auburn '69) co-owns Hollywood Animal Hospital in Hollywood, Florida. From 2008-14, he represented District IV on the AVMA Board of Directors. Dr. Dee is a past president of the FVMA, American Animal Hospital Association, and American Board of Veterinary Practitioners. He is treasurer of the American Veterinary Medical Foundation. Distinguished Service Award: Dr. Jack L. Blackwood, DeFuniak Springs. Dr. Blackwood (Auburn '82) owns Walton County Animal Clinic in DeFuniak Springs. He co-founded the Okaloosa-Walton Veterinary Emergency Clinic, serving as president of its board of directors for several years, and launched the Animal Sterilization Assistance Program of Walton County. Dr. Blackwood is a past member of the FVMA Financial Committee. Veterinarian of the Year: Dr. Mitsie Vargas, Winter Haven. Dr. Vargas (Tuskegee '94) practices at Orchid Springs Animal Hospital in Winter Haven. A past president of the Ridge Veterinary Medical Society, she has served on the FVMA's Awards and Veterinary Assistant/Technician Certification committees. Dr. Vargas is a certified veterinary journalist. Gold Star Award: Drs. Jenifer A. Chatfield, Dade City; Donald S. Howell, Largo; Tracey Ladue, Orange Park; Jennifer Locke, Jacksonville; Harvey Partridge, St. Petersburg; Thomas M. Potter, Tallahassee; Lauren Prather, Winter Garden; Ruth-Anne Richter, Brandon; Claudia Valderrama, Hallandale; and John S. Woodby, Miami
Officials: Drs. Marc A. Presnell, Lakeland, president; Michael Epperson, Fort Walton Beach, president-elect; Donald H. Morgan, Largo, treasurer; Alex "Steve" Steverson, Tallahassee, immediate past president; and AVMA delegate and alternate delegate—Drs. Ernest C. Godfrey, Pinellas Park, and Richard B. Williams, Jacksonville