Virginia VMA

Published on
information-circle This article is more than 3 years old
Dr. Rogers
Dr. Steve Rogers
Dr. Neumann
Dr. Brian Neumann
Dr. Casey
Dr. Erin Casey
Dr. Gottschalk
Dr. Kelly Gottschalk

Event: Virginia Veterinary Conference, Feb. 22-24, Roanoke
Awards: Paul F. Landis Veterinarian of the Year: Dr. Melinda McCall, Louisa. A 2004 graduate of the Virginia-Maryland College of Veterinary Medicine, Dr. McCall owns Louisa Veterinary Service, a large animal mobile practice. She is immediate past president of the Virginia VMA. Distinguished Virginia Veterinarian: Dr. Steve Rogers, Falls Church, for his more than 40-year service to the veterinary profession, and leadership in his community. A 1971 veterinary graduate of the University of Georgia, Dr. Rogers owned Falls Church Animal Hospital prior to retirement. He is a past president of the Virginia VMA. Veterinary Service Award: Dr. Bruce Coston, New Market, for his service to and leadership roles in both the Virginia VMA and AVMA. A 1987 veterinary graduate of the University of Minnesota, Dr. Coston is medical director at Seven Bends Veterinary Hospital in Woodstock. He chairs the AVMA Clinical Practitioners Advisory Committee and is vice chair of the AVMA Council on Biologic and Therapeutic Agents. Dr. Coston represented the Shenandoah Valley Conference of Veterinarians on the Virginia VMA executive board for 10 years. Recent Graduate Leadership Award: Dr. Brian Neumann, Alexandria. A 2014 veterinary graduate of Virginia-Maryland, Dr. Neumann is an associate veterinarian at Caring Hands Animal Hospital. He serves on the VVMA executive board and is facilitating veterinarian for the association's Power of 10 Leadership Program. Mentor of the Year: Dr. Virginia Edwards, Blacksburg. A 2012 veterinary graduate of Virginia-Maryland, Dr. Edwards is a clinical instructor at the college. Commercial Representative of the Year: Dr. Erin Casey, Fredericksburg. A 2010 veterinary graduate of the University of Georgia, Dr. Casey is a field services veterinarian with Boehringer-Ingelheim Animal Health. She was recognized for her support of VVMA continuing education and membership events.
Officials: Drs. Jason Bollenbeck, Leesburg, president; Kelly Gottschalk, Richmond, president-elect; Jay Margolis, Chantilly, vice president; Martin Betts, Charlottesville, secretary-treasurer; and Melinda McCall, Louisa, immediate past president