Society for Veterinary Medical Ethics

Published on
information-circle This article is more than 3 years old
Dr. Dorn
Dr. Albert S. Dorn
Dr. Folger
Dr. William Folger

Event: Annual meeting, Feb. 5, Orlando, Florida
Awards: Shomer Award in Veterinary Ethics: Dr. Albert S. Dorn, Knoxville, Tennessee, for important contributions to the field of veterinary medical ethics. A 1965 graduate of the University of Illinois College of Veterinary Medicine and a diplomate of the American College of Veterinary Surgeons, Dr. Dorn is professor emeritus of small animal surgery at the University of Tennessee College of Veterinary Medicine. He co-founded and served as the second president of the SVME, helping to produce the original constitution and bylaws for the society, and revisions to the bylaws in 2005. Dr. Dorn was a member of the AVMA Judicial Council from 1991-97, serving as chair from 1996-97. While on the council, he helped revise the AVMA Principles of Veterinary Medical Ethics. From 1998-2000, Dr. Dorn served as Personal and Professional Development Section manager on the AVMA Convention Education Program Committee. He is a past chair of the University of Tennessee College of Veterinary Medicine Curriculum Committee and a past member of the SVME Program Committee. Student Essay Award: Adeyemi Olayide Abbraham, University of Ilorn, Nigeria, for "Burnout, compassion fatigue, and the future of our profession."
Officials: Drs. Don DeForge, Milford, Connecticut, president; Marthina Greer, Lomira, Wisconsin, president-elect and secretary; John Wright, St. Paul, Minnesota, treasurer; Lynn Bahr, Roswell, Georgia, parliamentarian; and William Folger, Houston, immediate past president