Missouri VMA

Published on February 28, 2018
information-circle This article is more than 3 years old
Dr. Jones
Dr. Maynard Bill Jones
Dr. Vedder-Penrod
Dr. Cynthia Vedder-Penrod

Event: 126th annual convention, Jan. 18-21, Columbia
Program: The convention offered over 50 continuing education lectures and drew more than 600 attendees.
Awards: Veterinarian of the Year: Dr. Maynard Bill Jones, Versailles. A 1972 graduate of the University of Missouri College of Veterinary Medicine, Dr. Jones owns Versailles Veterinary Clinic. He serves as chair of the association's Emergency Management and Public Health Committee and is a member of the Missouri Voluntary Veterinary Corps. President's Award: Heath Clarkston and Harry Gallagher of Lathrop & Gage Consulting in Jefferson City. With several years of experience in governmental affairs and lobbying, Clarkston and Gallagher have been involved with most landmark legislation in Missouri over the past decades. Missouri Veterinary Medical Foundation Distinguished Service Award: Richard D. Antweiler, Jefferson City. Antweiler has served as executive director of the association for 18 years. During that time, he has assisted members with professional education, legislative issues, and public relations initiatives. Missouri VMA Academy Distinguished Service Award: Dr. Angela Tennison, Columbia. A 2001 graduate of the University of Missouri College of Veterinary Medicine, Dr. Tennison is associate dean of student affairs and assistant teaching professor at the veterinary college.
Officials: MVMA—Dr. Cynthia Vedder-Penrod, Fulton, president; Dr. Carol Ryan, Troy, president-elect; Dr. David L. Gourley, Mountain Grove, vice president; Dr. Shelia L. Taylor, Springfield, secretary-treasurer; Dr. Clifford J. Miller, Moberly, executive board chair and immediate past president; and Richard D. Antweiler, Jefferson City, executive director. Missouri VMA Academy— Drs. Jessica Stroupe, Armstrong, president; Bruce Whittle, Trenton, vice president; and Lauren Smith, Kansas City, immediate past president. Missouri Veterinary Medical Foundation—Drs. Philip R. Brown, Chillicothe, board chair; Scott Fray, Boonville, board vice chair; George Buckloo, Lake Tapawingo, secretary-treasurer; William J. Shore, St. Louis, immediate past chair; and Roger Dozier, Jefferson City, museum director.