American Association of Veterinary Laboratory Diagnosticians

Published on
information-circle This article is more than 3 years old
Dr. Pace
Dr. Lanny Pace
Dr. Kiupel
Dr. Matti Kiupel
Dr. McElwain
Dr. Terry McElwain
Dr. Hooser
Dr. Steve Hooser


Dr. Bailey
Dr. Keith Bailey

Event: 60th annual meeting, Oct. 12-18, 2017, San Diego
Awards: E.P. Pope Award: Dr. Lanny Pace, Pearl, Mississippi, for noteworthy contributions to the AAVLD and to the field of veterinary diagnostic medicine. Dr. Pace received his DVM degree from Mississippi State University in 1982 and his doctorate in veterinary pathology from Louisiana State University in 1986. A diplomate of the American College of Veterinary Pathologists, he is executive director of the Mississippi Veterinary Research and Diagnostic Laboratory System in Pearl. Dr. Pace has served on the executive board of the AAVLD and is a member of the AAVLD Accreditation Committee. Distinguished Service Award: Dr. Matti Kiupel, East Lansing, Michigan, for volunteering time, energy, and professionalism to substantially enrich and advance the AAVLD and the field of veterinary diagnostic medicine. Dr. Kiupel received his veterinary degree from Freie Universitat Berlin in Germany in 1996 and earned his doctorate in veterinary pathology from Purdue University in 2001. He serves as a professor in the Department of Pathobiology and Diagnostic Investigation and the Veterinary Diagnostic Laboratory at the Michigan State University College of Veterinary Medicine. Dr. Kiupel is a diplomate of the American College of Veterinary Pathologists and has chaired the AAVLD Pathology Committee for eight years. BioMic Award for Excellence in Diagnostic Microbiology: Connie Gebhart, PhD, St. Paul, Minnesota, for research accomplishments in the field that have resulted in new scientific findings that have application for the betterment of veterinary medicine. Dr. Gebhart earned her doctorate in veterinary medicine from the University of Minnesota in 1987 and is a professor in the Department of Veterinary and Biomedical Sciences and faculty adviser for bacteriology in the Veterinary Diagnostic Laboratory at the veterinary college. She is known for her expertise in molecular diagnostics, molecular epidemiology, and pathogenesis of bacterial diseases. Life Membership Award: Dr. Terry McElwain, Oak Harbor, Washington. Dr. McElwain earned his DVM degree from Kansas State University in 1980 and his doctorate in infectious diseases and immunology from Washington State University in 1986. A diplomate of the American College of Veterinary Pathologists, he is regents professor emeritus in the Paul G. Allen School for Global Animal Health at Washington State University. J. Lindsay Oaks Best Student Molecular Biology Presentation Award: Dr. Noah Hull, University of Wyoming, for "Using a novel real-time PCR assay to investigate the epidemiology of brucellosis in the Yellowstone National Park bison herd." Richard Walker Best Student Bacteriology Presentation Award: Dr. Tessa LeCuyer, Washington State University, for "Recurrence of canine E. coli urinary tract infections is unrelated to biofilm formation." Brenda Love Best Classical Bacteriology Presentation Award and Best Graduate Student Poster Award: Sreenidhi Sreenivasan, Pennsylvania State University, for "FimH has a strain and host-cell type dependent role in adherence of E. coli O157:H7 super-shedder strains to host cells." AAVLD/ACVP Resident Pathology Travel Award: Dr. Franco Matias-Ferreyra, Iowa State University, for "Identification of a divergent porcine astrovirus type 3 in central nervous system tissue from swine with neurologic disease and encephalomyelitis: diagnostic investigation, virus characterization and retrospective analysis of historic cases." Best Graduate Student Oral Presentation Award: Michael Zeller, Iowa State University, for "Human to swine transmission of novel H3 Influenza A viruses from 2010 to 2017." Best Staff Presentation Award: Margaret Johnson, Michigan State University, for "Detection of pentobarbital in commercial dog food." Best JVDI Full Manuscript: Aspen M. Workman, Michael P. Heaton, Gregory P. Harhay, Timothy P. L. Smith, Dale M. Grotelueschen, David Sjeklocha, Bruce Brodersen, Jessica L. Petersen, and Carol G. Chitki-McKown for "Resolving bovine viral diarrhea virus subtypes from persistently infected U.S. beef calves with complete genome sequence." Best JVDI Brief Communication: Daniele M. Bassuino, Guilherme Konradt, Raquel A.S. Cruz, Gustavo S. Silva, Danilo C. Gomes, Saulo P. Pavarini, and David Driemeier, for "Characterization of spinal cord lesions in cattle and horses with rabies: the importance of correct sampling."
Officials: Dr. Steve Hooser, West Lafayette, Indiana, president; Dr. Keith Bailey, Stillwater, Oklahoma, president-elect; Dr. Deepanker Tewari, Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, vice president; Dr. Kristy Pabilonia, Fort Collins, Colorado, secretary-treasurer; Dr. Patrick Halbur, Ames, Iowa, immediate past president; and Jim Kistler, Navarre, Florida, executive director.