American College of Veterinary Ophthalmologists

Published on
information-circle This article is more than 3 years old
Dr. Benjamin Bergstrom
Dr. Jane Cho

Event: Annual meeting, Oct. 11-14, 2017, Baltimore
Awards: Best Case Report Manuscript Award: Dr. Benjamin Bergstrom, Nashville, Tennessee, for "Canine panuveitis: A retrospective evaluation of 55 cases (2000-2015)"; Best Clinical Research Manuscript Award: Dr. Michele Edelmann, Staten Island, New York, for "Adjunctive autologous platelet rich plasma treatment following diamond burr debridement for canine spontaneous chronic corneal epithelial defects–a randomized controlled clinical trial"; Best Basic Science Research Manuscript Award: Dr. Todd Marlo, Marion, Illinois, for "Altering equine corneal fibroblast differentiation through Smad gene transfer"
New diplomates: The following 18 individuals were welcomed as ACVO diplomates:

Benjamin Bergstrom, Nashville, Tennessee
Lori Best, Colorado Springs, Colorado
Breanna Brash, Rockport, Indiana
Derek Chow, Wan Chai, Hong Kong
Julia Disney, Midvale, Utah
Alexis Dubin, Rocklin, California
Kathryn Fleming, Champaign, Illinois
Marina Leis, Saskatoon, Saskatchewan
Brian Leonard, Davis, California
Alexander LoPinto, Brooklyn, New York
Elizabeth Lutz, Seaford, New York
Jill MacLeese, West Islip, New York
Jessica McDonald, Appleton, Wisconsin
Nelson Pinto-Hernandez, Savannah, Georgia
Michelle Samuel, Leesburg, Virginia
Catherine Schmidt, Bedford Hills, New York
Emily Sharpe, Stillwater, Oklahoma
Amanda Sherman Davis, Raleigh, North Carolina

Officials: Drs. Jane Cho, Thornwood, New York, president; Alexandra van der Woerdt, New York, secretary-treasurer; and Ralph Hamor, Gainesville, Florida, immediate past president