Kentucky VMA

Published on January 03, 2018
information-circle This article is more than 3 years old
​Dr. Reed
​Dr. Debbie S. Reed
Dr. Rood
Dr. William G. Rood
Dr. Peterson
Dr. Douglas Peterson
​Dr. Quammen
​Dr. Jennifer K. Quammen

Event: Annual meeting, Sept. 29-Oct. 1, 2017, Louisville
Awards: Veterinarian of the Year: Dr. Debbie S. Reed, Hopkinsville. Dr. Reed received her veterinary degree from Auburn University in 1987 and a master's in public health from Western Kentucky University in 2010, and serves as director of the Murray State University Breathitt Veterinary Center in Hopkinsville. Earlier, she practiced mixed animal medicine in Jackson County for almost 20 years. Dr. Reed has served on several committees of the Kentucky Cattlemen's Association, Kentucky Farm Bureau, and Kentucky Department of Agriculture. Distinguished Service Award: Dr. William G. Rood, Lexington. A 1972 graduate of the University of California-Davis School of Veterinary Medicine, Dr. Rood is co-founder, chief executive officer, and president of Rood & Riddle Equine Hospital in Lexington. Active with the American Association of Equine Practitioners, he has chaired the association's Practice Management and Hospital Design committees, initiated its practice management symposium, and served on its Ethics Committee. Dr. Rood also founded the first veterinary management group for equine practices.
Officials: Drs. Douglas Peterson, Frankfort, president; Jennifer K. Quammen, Walton, president-elect; Bonnie Barr, Lexington, vice president; Andrew Roberts, Lexington, secretary-treasurer; and Walter G. Haines, Bowling Green, immediate past president