American Association of Zoo Veterinarians

Published on
information-circle This article is more than 3 years old
Dr. Kennedy-Stoskopf
Dr. Suzanne Kennedy-Stoskopf
Dr. Janssen
Dr. Don Janssen
Dr. Adkesson
Dr. Michael J. Adkesson

Event: Annual conference, Sept. 22-27, 2017, Dallas
Awards: Emil Dolensek Award: Dr. Suzanne Kennedy-Stoskopf, Raleigh, North Carolina, won this award, given in honor of exceptional contributions to the conservation, care, and understanding of zoo and free-ranging wildlife. A 1976 graduate of the Michigan State University College of Veterinary Medicine, Dr. Kennedy-Stoskopf serves as a research professor of wildlife infectious diseases and ecosystem health at the North Carolina State University College of Veterinary Medicine. She is a diplomate of the American College of Zoological Medicine and has mentored several graduate students and residents in zoological medicine. Lifetime Achievement Award: Dr. Don Janssen, San Diego, for a lifetime of contributions to the discipline of zoological medicine. A 1978 graduate of the University of California-Davis School of Veterinary Medicine, Dr. Janssen oversees veterinary services at the San Diego Zoo and San Diego Zoo Safari Park. He also provides veterinary support for conservation and research activities at San Diego Zoo Global. Dr. Janssen is a diplomate of the ACZM. Duane Ullrey Award, for exceptional achievements in the science of wild animal health and for support of the AAZV: Kurt Benirschke, MD, San Diego. Dr. Benirschke is a professor emeritus of pathology and reproductive medicine at the University of California in San Diego. He founded the Center for Research on Endangered Species at the San Diego Zoo, serving as its director from 1976-87. Dr. Benirschke's work has focused on perinatal human mortality with special reference to placental disease and comparative cytogenetics of mammals. Linda Munson Pathology Manuscript Award: Dr. James Macgregor, Murdoch, Australia, for "A need for dynamic hematology and serum biochemistry reference tools: Novel use of sine wave functions to produce seasonally varying reference curves in platypuses (Ornithorhynchus anatinus)." Graduate manuscript competition: Dr. Dana Lindemann, Brookfield, Illinois, for "Evaluation of a novel herpesvirus as a sentinel for population health in endangered Blanding's turtles (Emydoidea blandingii)." Postgraduate manuscript competition: First place-Dr. Justin Rosenberg, Gainesville, Florida, for "Diagnostic performance of readily available analytes in the diagnosis of inflammation in gopher tortoises (Gopherus polyphemus)"; and second place-Dr. Taylor Yaw, Madison, Wisconsin, for "Comparison of a smartphone-based electrocardiogram device with a standard six-lead electrocardiogram in the Atlantic bottlenose dolphin (Tursiops truncates)." Presidential service awards were given to Drs. Suzie Bartlett, Hartsdale, New York; Beth Bicknese, San Diego; Yvonne Nadler, Peotone, Illinois; Steve Olson, Silver Spring, Maryland; Meredith Clancy, Carlsbad, California; June Olds, Ames, Iowa; Dave Miller, Loveland, Colorado; and Anneke Moresco, Morrison, Colorado.
Officials: Drs. Michael J. Adkesson, Brookfield, Illinois, president; Julie Napier, Omaha, Nebraska, president-elect; Leigh Clayton, Severna Park, Maryland, vice president; Jessica Siegal-Willott, Alexandria, Virginia, secretary; Lauren Howard, San Diego, treasurer; and R. Scott Larsen, Denver, immediate past president