Association of Avian Veterinarians

Published on
information-circle This article is more than 3 years old
​Dr. Lierz
​Dr. Michael Lierz
​Dr. van Zeeland
​Dr. Yvonne van Zeeland
Dr. Powers
Dr. Lauren V. Powers

Event: Annual meeting, July 29-Aug. 2, 2017, Washington, D.C.
Awards: Dr. T.J. Lafeber Avian Practitioner Award: Dr. Michael Lierz, Giessen, Germany, for advancing avian medicine and surgery while providing inspiration and showing compassion. A 1996 graduate of the Veterinary College of Hannover in Germany, Dr. Lierz is a professor in avian medicine and director of the Clinic for Birds, Reptiles, Amphibians, and Fish at the Justus-Liebig University of Giessen. He is president of the European Association of Avian Veterinarians, a diplomate of the European College of Zoological Medicine and European College of Poultry Veterinary Science, and a member of the Royal College of Veterinary Surgeons. Donald W. Zantop Memorial Lecture Honoree: Dr. Brenna Fitzgerald, Oakley, California, for "Clinical Cardiovascular Anatomy and Disease States." House Officer Manuscript Competition Award: Dr. Anna Martel-Arquette, Madison, Wisconsin, for "Effects of midazolam and midazolam-butorphanol on gastrointestinal transit time and motility in cockatiels (Nymphicus hollandicus)." Research Grant Award: Drs. Yvonne van Zeeland, Utrecht, Netherlands, for "Therapeutic efficacy of paroxetine in feather damaging grey parrots," and Emma Schachner, New Orleans, for "Lower respiratory system anatomy of the African grey parrot." President's Service Appreciation Award: Dr. Laurie Hess, Bedford Hills, New York
Business: The association has expanded its annual research funding by offering two new bird health grants.
Officials: Drs. Lauren V. Powers, Huntersville, North Carolina, president; Yvonne van Zeeland, Utrecht, Netherlands, president-elect; Michael Lutz, Nashville, Tennessee, treasurer; and  Michelle Hawkins, Davis, California, immediate past president and conference chair.