Bovine veterinarians honored; students supported

Published on November 01, 2017
Dr. LaFaunce Dr. Kelton Dr. Smith Dr. Griffin
Dr. Norm LaFaunce Dr. David Kelton Dr. Bob Smith Dr. Dee Griffin
Dr. Muller Dr. Gukich Dr. Fox Dr. Johnson
​Dr. Fred Muller Dr. Robert Gukich Dr. Trent Fox Dr. Darrel Johnson
Dr. Oliphant Dr. Gordon
​Dr. Rodney Oliphant Dr. Eric Gordon

The American Association of Bovine Practitioners honored 10 veterinarians for their work to improve the lives of people and cattle.

Members of the organization gave the awards Sept. 16 during the AABP annual meeting, hosted Sept. 14-16 in Omaha, Nebraska.

The AABP, AABP Foundation, corporate sponsors, and individual donors also gave about $325,000 to students, graduate students, and student organizations during the meeting, an AABP announcement states. They gave $210,000 in scholarships and the rest in student organization funding, grants, competition prizes, and travel stipends.

Dr. Norm LaFaunce of Turlock, California, received the Boehringer Ingelheim Vetmedica AABP Bovine Practitioner of the Year Award. The award honors AABP members who have made substantial contributions to bovine medicine through activity in practice and organized veterinary medicine.

Dr. David Kelton of Guelph, Ontario, received the AABP Award of Excellence. It honors AABP members who have worked in teaching, research, industry, or government and had consistent and direct influence on daily actions by bovine veterinarians.

Dr. Bob Smith of Stillwater, Oklahoma, received the Zoetis Distinguished Service Award. It is given to honor lengthy continued service that has promoted AABP goals as well as to honor those who have served as models of service to bovine agriculture through organized veterinary medicine.

Dr. Dee Griffin of Canyon, Texas, received the Merck Animal Health Mentor of the Year Award. Recipients of this award have spent at least 25 years in veterinary medicine and been advisers and role models to students in veterinary or preveterinary programs.

Dr. Fred Muller of Sunnyside, Washington, received the Boehringer Ingelheim Excellence in Preventive Medicine Award for dairy practice, and Dr. Robert Gukich of Lake Wales, Florida, received the award for beef practice. The award is given to practitioners or practices for outstanding preventive medicine programs.

Dr. Trent Fox of Hays, Kansas, received the Dr. James A. Jarrett Award for Young Leaders. It honors veterinarians who are within 10 years of graduation from veterinary school and have provided extraordinary service that has aided the mission of the AABP and helped ensure the organization's success.

Dr. Darrel Johnson of Marshfield, Wisconsin, was inducted into the Cattle Production Veterinarian Hall of Fame for dairy practice, and Dr. Rodney Oliphant of Offerle, Kansas, was poshumously inducted for beef practice. Two practitioners are inducted each year for lifetime commitments to bovine veterinary medicine.

The Ohio State University received the Student Chapter Award, and Dr. Eric Gordon, an assistant professor at The Ohio State University, received the Faculty Advisor Award. The awards honor activities, involvement, and mentorship.