Alabama VMA

Published on November 01, 2017
information-circle This article is more than 3 years old
Dr. McMillan Dr. Franz Dr. Ashwander Dr. Lee
Dr. Kenneth McMillan Dr. Charles Franz ​Dr. Charles Ashwander Dr. Hank Lee

Event: Emerald Coast Veterinary Conference, June 28-July 2, Sandestin, Florida
Awards: Veterinarian of the Year: Dr. Kenneth McMillan, Talladega. Dr. McMillan received his veterinary degree from Auburn University in 1981 and is a partner at Pell City Animal Hospital. A past president of the association, he chairs the ALVMA Legislative Committee and serves as the legislative liaison for the association. Distinguished Service Award: Dr. Charles Franz, Montgomery, for exceptional achievements and contributions to the advancement of the profession. A 1981 graduate of the Auburn University College of Veterinary Medicine, Dr. Franz owns Franz Management Services and serves as executive director of the Society for Theriogenology, American College of Theriogenologists, and Theriogenology Foundation. He began his career practicing mixed animal medicine in the Montgomery area, later co-founding and serving as chief executive officer of Sunbelt Veterinary Supply. From 2001 until March 2017, Dr. Franz was executive director of the Alabama VMA. Under his directorship, the association experienced tremendous growth in member services and increased financial stability. Layperson of the Year Award: Jeanne Brock, Jacksonville, for contributions toward advancement of the profession and the association. A licensed veterinary technician, Brock is a member of the Auburn University College of Veterinary Medicine's Canine Performance Sciences program. She co-invented Vapor Wake, a scientifically based method for selecting, training, and employing dogs for the detection of hand-carried and body-worn explosives. Brock has also developed and implemented curriculum in performance dog care for prison inmates, via a certificate offered as part of Auburn University's continuing education program. Special Award: Dr. Larry Stutts, Tuscumbia, and Ron Johnson, Sylacauga. Dr. Stutts is a member of the Alabama State Senate, representing District 6. Johnson is a member of the Alabama House of Representatives, representing District 33. Senator Stutts and Representative Johnson were honored for their roles in getting legislation passed that exempts veterinarians from the drug monitoring program in Alabama. Service Award: Drs. Charles Ashwander, Decatur; William Bledsoe, Camden; James Floyd, Auburn; Jack Goodman, Athens; John Hammons, Athens; and Frances Kendrick, Selma.
Officials: Drs. Charles Ashwander, Decatur, president; Hank Lee, Atmore, president-elect; C. Alan Jones, Hazel Green, vice president; Mark Russell, Huntsville, treasurer; Randy Davis, Decatur, member at large; and Harold Pate, Lowndesboro, immediate past president