American College of Theriogenologists

Published on
information-circle This article is more than 3 years old
Dr. McCue
Dr. Patrick McCue
Dr. Kastelic
Dr. John Kastelic

Event: American College of Theriogenologists business meeting, Aug. 3 in Fort Collins, Colorado
Awards: Theriogenologist of the Year Award, sponsored by Merck Animal Health: Dr. Patrick McCue, Fort Collins, Colorado, for excellence in teaching and research on reproduction of horses. Dr. McCue is known for his extensive record of publication on equine embryo transfer, ovarian diseases, and endocrinology of mares.
Business: The ACT implemented a fully computerized certification examination. The ACT continues to support the Theriogenology Foundation, especially with regard to the Working Dog Project (see story). The ACT will create a new committee charged with review of materials submitted by diplomates for maintenance of certification.
New diplomates: The college welcomed 11 new diplomates following successful completion of the requirements: Drs. Morgan Agnew, Atglen, Pennsylvania; Kelli Beavers, Baton Rouge, Louisiana; Yehonatan Berkowic, Davis, California; Jenny Katrine Boye, Davis, California; Dinesh Dadarwal, Saskatoon, Saskatchewan; Gabriel Davolli, Baton Rouge, Louisiana; Jenna Dockweiler, Wheat Ridge, Colorado; B. Matt Dredge, Rexburg, Idaho; Jasmin Hyatt, Matamata, New Zealand; Jamie Stewart, Urbana, Illinois; and Stephanie Walbornn, Bryan, Texas.
Officials: Drs. John Kastelic, Calgary, Alberta, president; Reed Holyoak, Stillwater, Oklahoma, president-elect; Richard Hopper, Mississippi State, Mississippi, vice president; Leonardo Brito, Madison, Wisconsin, treasurer; Jack Smith, Mississippi State, Mississippi, secretary; and Ram Kasimanickam, Pullman, Washington, immediate past president. Dr. Herris Maxwell, Auburn, Alabama, was elected to the board of directors.

Related JAVMA content:

Society for Theriogenology (Nov. 1, 2017)

Project intended to improve working dog breeding (Nov. 1, 2017)