Five swine veterinarians honored by AASV

Published on
information-circle This article is more than 3 years old
Dr. Eisenmenger
Dr. Mark Eisenmenger
Dr. Main
Dr. Rodger Main
Dr. Harker
Dr. Jeffrey Harker
Dr. Ellingson
Dr. Joshua Ellingson


Dr. Wetzell
Dr. Thomas Wetzell

Five swine veterinarians received awards for contributions to the swine industry and the American Association of Swine Veterinarians.

Dr. Mike Eisenmenger, a consultant and practitioner for the Swine Vet Center in St. Peter, Minnesota, received the 2017 Swine Practitioner of the Year Award, which is given for proficiency and effectiveness in delivering veterinary services. He has been in veterinary practice since graduating from the Iowa State University College of Veterinary Medicine in 1983.

Dr. Rodger Main, a professor and operations director for the ISU Veterinary Diagnostic Laboratory, received the 2017 Howard Dunne Memorial Award for important contributions and outstanding service to the AASV and swine industry. Dr. Main led the laboratory during a period of substantial growth, and it has provided customer-centered service to swine veterinarians. He also has worked on AASV and National Pork Board committees throughout his career.

Dr. Jeffrey Harker, a partner at Swine Health Services in Frankfort, Indiana, received the 2017 Meritor­ious Service Award for outstanding service to the AASV. His practice’s clients range from owners of small show pig herds to contract growers in integrated production systems, although most clients have family farms. Dr. Harker is an AASV district director and the AASV delegate to the AVMA House of Delegates. He has served on AASV committees and worked with the 4-H Club, National FFA Organization, and NPB.

Dr. Joshua Ellingson, a partner with AMVC Management Services in Audubon, Iowa, received the 2017 Young Swine Veterinarian of the Year Award, which is given to a member who graduated within the preceding five years and has demonstrated the ideals of exemplary service and proficiency. Dr. Ellingson also is associate director and a board member of the Swine Medicine Education Center at the ISU CVM.

Dr. Thomas Wetzell, who lives in Cleveland, Minnesota, and works on the U.S. swine professional services team of Boehringer Ingelheim Vetmedica, received the Technical Services/Allied Industry Veterinarian of the Year Award. It honors swine industry veterinarians for proficiency and effectiveness in delivering veterinary service to their companies and clients as well as for tireless service to the AASV and swine industry. Dr. Wetzell works with swine veterinary practices and production companies in the Upper Midwest.