Teaching, research awards conferred

Published on December 14, 2016
information-circle This article is more than 3 years old

The following individuals are recipients of the 2016 Zoetis Distinguished Veterinary Teacher Award and the Zoetis Award for Veterinary Research Excellence. The Zoetis Distinguished Veterinary Teacher Award is given to educators in recognition of their character and leadership qualities as well as their outstanding teaching abilities. The Zoetis Award for Veterinary Research Excellence recognizes researchers whose innovative studies have advanced the scientific standing of veterinary medicine. 

Zoetis Distinguished Veterinary Teacher Award 

James J. Clark, DVM, University of California-Davis
David Van Metre, DVM, Colorado State University
Meredith Miller, DVM, Cornell University
Heather Walden, PhD, University of Florida
Jane Quandt, DVM, University of Georgia
Mark A. Mitchell, DVM, PhD, University of Illinois
Steve Carlson, DVM, PhD, Iowa State University
Steven L. Stockham, DVM, Kansas State University
Stephen D. Gaunt, DVM, PhD, Louisiana State University
N. Kent Ames, DVM, Michigan State University
Robert E. Porter, Jr., DVM, PhD, University of Minnesota
Marc Seitz, DVM, Mississippi State University
Meghan R. Harmon, DVM, University of Missouri
Mark Papich, DVM, North Carolina State University
Page E. Yaxley, DVM, The Ohio State University
Joseph P. McCann, PhD, Oklahoma State University
Sarah Nemanic, DVM, PhD, Oregon State University
Mark A. Oyama, DVM, University of Pennsylvania
Kevin Hannon, PhD, Purdue University
Andrea T. Peda, DVM, Ross University
Muhammad Iqbal Bhaiyat, DVM, PhD, St. George’s University
Sarel R. Van Amstel, BVSc, University of Tennessee
Glennon Mays, DVM, Texas A&M University
Perry J. Bain, DVM, PhD, Tufts University
Sammy L. Gorham, DVM, PhD, Tuskegee University
Rance Sellon, DVM, PhD, Washington State University
David E.M. Forster, DVM, Western University of Health Sciences
Sheila McGuirk, DVM, PhD, University of Wisconsin-Madison 

Zoetis Award for Veterinary Research Excellence

Ya-xiong Tao, PhD, Auburn University
Jonna Mazet, DVM, PhD, University of California-Davis
Jessica M. Quimby, DVM, PhD, Colorado State University
Gerlinde Van de Walle, DVM, PhD, Cornell University
Richard D. Johnson, PhD, University of Florida
M. Stephen Trent, PhD, University of Georgia
Gee W. Lau, PhD, University of Illinois
Jianqiang Zhang, MD, PhD, Iowa State University
Mark L. Weiss, PhD, Kansas State University
Cherie Pucheu-Haston, DVM, PhD, Louisiana State University
András Komáromy, DrMedVet, PhD, Michigan State University
Timothy Johnson, PhD, University of Minnesota
Russell L. Carr, PhD, Mississippi State University
Jeffrey N. Bryan, DVM, PhD, University of Missouri
David Dorman, DVM, PhD, North Carolina State University
Jianrong Li, PhD, The Ohio State University
Michael S. Davis, DVM, PhD, Oklahoma State University
Jean Hall, DVM, PhD, Oregon State University
Ashley G. Boyle, DVM, University of Pennsylvania
Daniel F. Hogan, DVM, Purdue University
Darryn Knobel, BVSc, PhD, Ross University
Victor Anozie Amadi, MSc, St. George’s University
Madhu S. Dhar, PhD, University of Tennessee
Jan S. Suchodolski, MedVet, DrVetMed, PhD, Texas A&M University
Andrew M. Hoffman, DVM, Tufts University
Toufic O. Nashar, DVM, PhD, Tuskegee University
Nikolaos G. Dervisis, DVM, PhD, Virginia-Maryland College of Veterinary Medicine
William M. Sischo, DVM, PhD, Washington State University
Lyon Lee, DVM, PhD, Western University of Health Sciences
Chad Vezina, PhD, University of Wisconsin-Madison