South Dakota VMA

Published on
information-circle This article is more than 3 years old
Dr. Larson
Dr. Edward Larson
Dr. Teachout
Dr. Bruce Teachout
Dr. Braunschmidt
Dr. Mark Braunschmidt
Dr. White
Dr. Travis White

Event: Annual meeting, Aug. 17-20, Sioux Falls
Awards: Veterinarian of the Year: Dr. Edward Larson, Watertown. A 1956 graduate of the University of Minnesota College of Veterinary Medicine, Dr. Larson is the founder of Lake Area Veterinary Clinic, a mixed animal practice in Watertown. He is known for his expertise in equine medicine and for his mentoring skills. Early in his career, Dr. Larson worked in Minnesota and Wisconsin. Distinguished Service Award: Dr. Bruce Teachout, Yankton, won this award, given in honor of an individual who has brought distinction to the veterinary profession through professional and personal achievements and by serving as an inspiration to veterinarians and their clients. A 1974 graduate of the Iowa State University College of Veterinary Medicine, Dr. Teachout co-owns Animal Health Clinic in Yankton. He is a past president of the SDVMA and co-founder of the SDVMA Scholarship Foundation. Emerging Leader Award: Dr. Mark Braunschmidt, Brandon, won this award, given to a member who has graduated in the preceding 10 years and has a record of outstanding accomplishments in veterinary research, private practice, regulatory services, civic activities, or organized veterinary medicine. A 2007 graduate of the Iowa State University College of Veterinary Medicine, Dr. Braunschmidt is a partner at Horizon Pet Care, a small animal practice in Brandon. Earlier, he worked at All Pet Complex in Boise, Idaho. Dr. Braunschmidt is vice president of the SDVMA, having previously served as a district representative and secretary-treasurer.
Officials: Drs. Travis White, Sioux Center, president; Michelle Jensen, Harrisburg, president-elect; Mark Braunschmidt, Brandon, vice president; Ethan Andress, Hettinger, secretary-treasurer; Christy Teets, Rapid City, immediate past president; Chris Chase, Brookings, AVMA delegate; Cindy Franklin, Yankton, AVMA alternate delegate; Angela Anderson, Sioux Falls, District 1 representative; Chanda Nilsson, Groton, District 2 representative; and Sandra Wahlert, Hot Springs, District 3 representative