American College of Zoological Medicine

Published on
information-circle This article is more than 3 years old
Dr. Mehren
Dr. Kay Mehren

Event: Annual meeting, July 17, Atlanta
Awards: Murray E. Fowler Lifetime Achievement Award: Dr. Kay Mehren, Scarborough, Ontario, won this award, given in recognition of an ACZM diplomate who has demonstrated exceptional commitment to the college while making lifetime contributions that have advanced the discipline of zoological medicine. A 1965 graduate of the University of California-Davis School of Veterinary Medicine and a charter diplomate of the ACZM, Dr. Mehren was senior veterinarian at the Toronto Zoo for almost 30 years. She has served on the ACZM Executive Board and chaired the college’s credentials committee. ACZM Student Manuscript Award: Dr. Jennifer C. Hausmann, Denver, for “Experimental challenge study of FV3-like Ranavirus infection in previously FV3-like Ranavirus infected Eastern box turtles (Terrapene carolina carolina) to assess infection and survival.” A 2011 graduate of the University of California-Davis School of Veterinary Medicine, Dr. Hausmann is an associate veterinarian at the Denver Zoo. President’s Award: Drs. Allison Tuttle, Mystic, Connecticut; Kurt Sladky, Madison, Wisconsin; and Scott Larson, Denver, for outstanding service to the college.
Officials: Drs. Sharon Deem, St. Louis, Missouri, president; Kay Backues, Tulsa, Oklahoma, vice president; Jennifer Langan, Brookfield, Illinois, secretary; Lisa Harrenstien, Portland, Oregon, treasurer; and R. Scott Larsen, Denver, immediate past president