American College of Zoological Medicine

Published on
information-circle This article is more than 3 years old
Dr. Deem
Dr. Sharon Deem

Event: Annual meeting, Sept. 27, 2015, Portland, Oregon
Awards: Murray E. Fowler Lifetime Achievement Award: Dr. Richard Montali, Baltimore, won this award, given in recognition of an ACZM diplomate who has demonstrated exceptional commitment to the college while making lifetime contributions that have advanced the discipline of zoological medicine. A 1964 graduate of the Cornell University College of Veterinary Medicine and a diplomate of the American College of Veterinary Pathologists, Dr. Montali served as chief pathologist for the Smithsonian’s National Zoo in Washington D.C. until 2004, and was assistant professor of comparative medicine at Johns Hopkins University in Baltimore prior to retirement in 2013. During his career, he has investigated and conducted research on zoo animal and wildlife diseases, worked with the Department of Veterinary Pathology at the Armed Forces Institute of Pathology in providing training for their residents, and shared his expertise in animal pathology for research conducted at the National Institutes of Health.
New diplomates: Fourteen individuals were welcomed as new diplomates by the ACZM in 2015. They are as follows:

Copper Aitken-Palmer, Front Royal, Virginia
Jenifer A. Chatfield, Dade City, Florida
Emily F. Christiansen, Morehead City, North Carolina
Andrew C. Cushing, Knoxville, Tennessee
Pauline Delnatte, Scarborough, Ontario
Daniel V.E. Fredholm, Champions Gate, Florida
Gwen Jankowski, Denver
Judilee C. Marrow, Battle Creek, Michigan
Larry Jb Minter, Asheboro, North Carolina
Christy L. Rettenmund, Baltimore
Samuel Rivera, Atlanta
James C. Steeil, Arlington, Virginia
Julie Swenson, Glen Rose, Texas
Ellen B. Wiedner, Tacoma, Washington

Officials: Drs. Sharon Deem, St. Louis, president; Kay Backues, Tulsa, Oklahoma, vice president; Jennifer Langan, Brookfield, Illinois, secretary; Lisa Harrenstien, Portland, Oregon, treasurer; and R. Scott Larsen, Denver, immediate past president