United States Animal Health Association

Published on
information-circle This article is more than 3 years old
Dr. Breitmeyer
Dr. Richard Breitmeyer
Dr. Petersburg
Dr. Kevin Petersburg
Dr. Oedekoven
Dr. Dustin Oedekoven


Dr. Schmitt
Dr. David Schmitt
Dr. Parr
Dr. Boyd Parr

Event: 119th annual meeting, Oct. 22-28, 2015, Providence, Rhode Island
Program: The meeting, held jointly with the American Association of Veterinary Laboratory Diagnosticians (see page 361), drew more than 1,200 attendees. The joint plenary session, “Future of Livestock and Poultry: Food Security for the Next Decade,” addressed various perspectives and key issues impacting food production, and featured speakers Gary Woodward, deputy undersecretary for marketing and regulatory programs at the Department of Agriculture; Don Villwock, president of the Indiana Farm Bureau; Dr. Robert Tauxe, deputy director in the Division of Foodborne, Waterborne, and Environmental Diseases at the Centers for Disease and Control and Prevention’s National Center for Emerging and Zoonotic Infectious Diseases; and Dr. Michael Murphy, a veterinary medical officer with the Food and Drug Administration’s Center for Veterinary Medicine.
Awards: USAHA Medal of Distinction: Dr. Richard Breitmeyer, Davis, California, for outstanding leadership and contributions to the association and its stakeholders. A 1980 graduate of the University of California-Davis School of Veterinary Medicine, Dr. Breitmeyer is director of the California Animal Health and Food Safety Laboratory System. Earlier in his career, he served as California state veterinarian. Dr. Breitmeyer is a past president of the association and has served on several of its committees and task forces. USAHA Federal Partnership Award: Dr. Kevin Petersburg, Des Moines, Iowa. A 1984 graduate of the Iowa State University College of Veterinary Medicine, Dr. Petersburg is assistant director of surveillance, preparedness, and response services for Iowa and Wisconsin with the Department of Agriculture’s Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service. Earlier, he served as area veterinarian-in-charge for several years. Dr. Petersburg was honored for his collaborative efforts and leadership. APHIS Administrator’s Award: Dr. Dustin Oedekoven, Pierre, South Dakota, for his dedicated service to animal health. A 2002 graduate of the Iowa State University College of Veterinary Medicine, Dr. Oedekoven is South Dakota state veterinarian and executive secretary of the South Dakota Animal Industry Board. He worked closely with federal, state, and local officials during the avian influenza outbreak in 2015. National Assembly Award: Dr. Bob Meyer, Cheyenne, Wyoming, A 1974 graduate of the Kansas State University College of Veterinary Medicine, Dr. Meyer is assistant state veterinarian at the Wyoming Livestock Board. He was honored for his dedication to animal health and for his work with tuberculosis control.
Business: The USAHA continues to implement the 2014 strategic plan for its work in animal health and regulatory medicine. The association approved 19 resolutions which can be viewed at jav.ma/USAHA2015. The association also launched www.InterstateLivestock.com, a single source for livestock interstate movement requirements. The site was established in partnership with the National Institute for Animal Agriculture. The first species covered in the project is bovine, with plans to incorporate other major livestock species.
Officials: Dr. David Schmitt, Ankeny, Iowa, president; Dr. Boyd Parr, Columbia, South Carolina, president-elect; Barbara Determan, Early, Iowa, 1st vice president; Kristin Haas, Montpelier, Vermont, 2nd vice president; Dr. Martin Zaluski, Helena, Montana, 3rd vice president; Dr. Annette Jones, Sacramento, California, treasurer; and Dr. Bruce King, Axtell, Utah, immediate past president