Wisconsin VMA

Published on December 18, 2015
information-circle This article is more than 3 years old
Dr. Kratt
Dr. Douglas Kratt
Dr. Easley
Dr. John Easley
Dr. Zieser
Dr. Ann Sherwood Zieser
Reina Most


Jordan Lamb, JD
Dr. Been
Dr. John T. Been
Dr. Spaulding
Dr. Scott Spaulding

Event: Annual meeting, Oct. 9, 2015, Madison
Awards: Veterinarian of the Year: Dr. Douglas Kratt, Onalaska. A 1998 graduate of the University of Wisconsin-Madison School of Veterinary Medicine, Dr. Kratt owns Central Animal Hospital. He is Wisconsin’s delegate to the AVMA House of Delegates and serves on the House Advisory Committee. Dr. Kratt was president of the WVMA from 2008-2009. Distinguished Achievement Award: Dr. John Easley, Glenbeulah. A 1981 graduate of the Michigan State University College of Veterinary Medicine, Dr. Easley practices at Dairy Doctors Veterinary Service in Plymouth. Earlier in his career as a dairy veterinarian, he served as the lead veterinarian for an A1 bull stud. Dr. Easley is known worldwide for his expertise in mink production. Meritorious Service Award: Dr. Ann Sherwood Zieser, Lodi. A 1990 graduate of the UW-Madison SVM, Dr. Zieser practices at Middleton Veterinary Hospital. She serves on the WVMA Awards and Recognition and the Nominating and Procedural committees and was the association’s delegate to the AVMA HOD from 2011-2015. WVMA Friend of Veterinary Medicine Award: Reina Most, Kaukauna, won this award, given to an individual or organization in recognition of their service, commitment, and contributions specifically to veterinary medicine in Wisconsin. A certified veterinary technician, Most works at the Kaukauna Veterinary Clinic, where she anticipates the needs of the doctors on staff and acts accordingly. Presidential Award: Attorney Jordan Lamb, Madison. Lamb has provided extraordinary assistance to the association, including helping veterinarians to earn an exemption from the prescription drug monitoring program and moving the Wisconsin Veterinary Examining Board from the Department of Safety & Professional Services to the Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade, and Consumer Protection.
Business: The association restructured its bylaws and membership categories.
Officials: Drs. John T. Been, Prairie du Sac, president; Scott Spaulding, Milton, president-elect; David Jeans, Monroe, treasurer; and Jane Clark, Waunakee, immediate past president