New York State VMS

Published on
information-circle This article is more than 3 years old
Dr. Cook
Dr. Laura Cook
Dr. Kaddatz
Dr. Laurel A. Kaddatz (Photo by Dr. Rene van Ee)
Dr. Thompson
Dr. Margret Thompson
Dr. Wylegala
Dr. Susan E. Wylegala


Event: Annual meeting, Oct. 17-18, 2015, Ithaca
Awards: Veterinarian of the Year: Dr. Laura Cook, Canastota. A 1989 graduate of the Cornell University College of Veterinary Medicine, Dr. Cook is an associate veterinarian at Chittenango Animal Hospital. She also serves as a surgeon, clinic supervisor, and board member of Spay and Neuter Syracuse. Dr. Cook has volunteered her time to run the NYSVMS Hall of Veterinary Health program at the Great New York State Fair in Syracuse for more than 15 years. Distinguished Life Service Award: Dr. Laurel A. Kaddatz, Pound Ridge. A 1977 graduate of the University of Minnesota College of Veterinary Medicine, Dr. Kaddatz co-owns and serves as hospital director of Pound Ridge Veterinary Center. Prior to that, he was senior partner at a practice in Rochester. Dr. Kaddatz serves as the AVMA’s liaison to the World Small Animal Veterinary Association and represents the WSAVA on the AVMA Committee on International Veterinary Affairs. He is a past president of the NYSVMS, a past chair of the AVMA Council on Veterinary Service, and a past vice chair of the AVMA Governance Performance Review Committee. Dr. Kaddatz is also a past president of the North American Veterinary Community and serves as treasurer of the WSAVA Foundation.
Officials: Drs. Susan E. Wylegala, Buffalo, president; Margret Thompson, Ithaca, president-elect; Allan Bregman, Williston Park, treasurer; Dean Snyder, Hilton, immediate past president; and AVMA delegate and alternate delegate—Drs. Walter McCarthy, Grand Island, and Eric Bregman, Williston Park.