Association of Avian Veterinarians

Published on
information-circle This article is more than 3 years old
Dr. Redig
Dr. Patrick Redig
Dr. Baine
Dr. Katherine Baine
Dr. Hawkins
Dr. Michelle Hawkins
Dr. Welle
Dr. Kenneth Welle

Event: Annual meeting, Aug. 29-Sept. 2, San Antonio
Awards: Dr. T.J. Lafeber Avian Practitioner Award: Dr. Patrick Redig, St. Paul, Minnesota, for advancing avian medicine and surgery while providing inspiration and showing compassion. A 1974 graduate of the University of Minnesota College of Veterinary Medicine, Dr. Redig is a professor in the Department of Veterinary Clinical Sciences at the veterinary college. He is also the founder and director emeritus of the university’s Raptor Center. Dr. Redig serves as treasurer of the AAV. Speakers of the Year: Drs. Don Harris, South Miami, and Drury Reavill, Carmichael, California. A 1980 graduate of the Louisiana State University School of Veterinary Medicine, Dr. Harris owns Avian & Exotic Animal Medical Center in Miami. A 1986 graduate of the Colorado State University College of Veterinary Medicine & Biomedical Sciences, Dr. Reavill works at the Zoo/Exotic Pathology Service in Carmichael. Drs. Harris and Reavill were chosen as the favorite speakers from the 2014 AAV meeting. Donald W. Zantop Emerging Leader Award: Dr. Katherine Baine, Knoxville, Tennessee, won this award, given in recognition of her substantial contributions to the AAV and to avian medicine and surgery. A 2010 graduate of the North Carolina State University College of Veterinary Medicine, Dr. Baine practices at the Animal Emergency & Specialty Center in Knoxville. She is a diplomate of the American Board of Veterinary Practitioners (avian practice). Student Manuscript Contest Award: Nicolas Kirk, Knoxville, Tennessee, for “Comparison of various avian euthanasia methods.” House Officer Manuscript Competition Award: Dr. Grayson Doss, Madison, Wisconsin, for “Effects of manual restraint and hooding on physiologic parameters in red-tailed hawks.”
Officials: Drs. Kenneth Welle, Urbana, Illinois, president; Michelle Hawkins, Davis, California, president–elect; Patrick Redig, St. Paul, Minnesota, treasurer; and Cheryl Greenacre, Knoxville, Tennessee, immediate past president and conference chair