Missouri VMA

Published on
information-circle This article is more than 3 years old
Dr. Wolff
Dr. William A. Wolff
Dr. Barry
Dr. Charles L. Barry

Event: 123rd annual convention, Jan. 22-25, St. Charles
Program: The convention offered 60 continuing education lectures and drew more than 600 attendees.
Awards: Veterinarian of the Year: Dr. William A. Wolff, Columbia. A 1954 graduate of the Colorado State University College of Veterinary Medicine & Biomedical Sciences, Dr. Wolff served in the Army Veterinary Corps, practiced in western Colorado, taught and conducted research on foreign animal diseases, and served as an instructor and extension specialist at the Missouri University Extension Service, prior to retirement. He is a past chair of the MVMA Emergency Management and Public Health Committee and a past director of the Missouri Volunteer Veterinary Corps. Dr. Wolff helped build the MOVVC into a group of 300 veterinarian, ready to assist the state and federal governments in the event of natural disasters or animal disease outbreaks in Missouri. President’s Award: Dr. Neil C. Olson, Columbia. Dr. Olson earned his DVM degree from the University of Minnesota College of Veterinary Medicine in 1975 and his doctorate in physiology from Michigan State University in 1982. He is dean of the University of Missouri-Columbia College of Veterinary Medicine and serves as an ex-officio member of the Missouri VMA Executive Board. William A. Wolff Volunteerism Award: Dr. Charles E. Massengill, California, was honored for his service to veterinary medicine in Missouri and his work with the MOVVC. A 1979 graduate of the Kansas State University College of Veterinary Medicine, Dr. Massengill works for CRM Veterinary Consulting. He is director of the MOVVC and a member of the MVMA Emergency Management and Public Health Committee and Missouri Stocker Feeder Quality Assurance Program. Robert E. Hertzog Leadership Award: Dr. Clark K. Fobian, Sedalia, won this award, given for outstanding vision, leadership, and personal sacrifices for the betterment of the veterinary profession in Missouri and the United States. A 1977 graduate of the University of Missouri-Columbia College of Veterinary Medicine, Dr. Fobian owns Thompson Hills Animal Clinic in Sedalia. He is immediate past president of the AVMA and a past president of the Missouri VMA. Distinguished Legislative Service Award: Dr. Dan W. Brown, Rolla. A 1977 graduate of the University of Missouri-Columbia College of Veterinary Medicine, Dr. Brown owns Brown Veterinary Clinic in Rolla and is a state senator, representing the 16th district. He previously represented the 149th district in the Missouri House of Representatives. Missouri Veterinary Medical Foundation Distinguished Service Award: Trenton Boyd, Columbia, for helping expand the foundation’s mission of public education and charitable giving to worthy organizations. Boyd is the librarian curator of medical and veterinary historical collections at the University of Missouri-Columbia veterinary college. He has been an MVMF volunteer for several years. Honorary Membership Award of the Missouri Academy of Veterinary Practice: Dr. David A. Wilson, Columbia, won this award, given for distinguished or meritorious service to the veterinary profession. A 1984 graduate of the University of Illinois College of Veterinary Medicine, Dr. Wilson serves as a professor of equine surgery and hospital director at the University of Missouri Veterinary Medical Teaching Hospital. He is a diplomate of the American College of Veterinary Surgeons.
Officials: MVMA—Dr. Charles L. Barry, Warrensburg, president; Dr. Mel H. Falk, Lee’s Summit, president-elect; Dr. Clifford J. Miller, Moberly, vice president; Dr. Shelia L. Taylor, Springfield, secretary-treasurer; Dr. David A. Prigel, Republic, Executive Board chair/immediate past president; and Richard D. Antweiler, Jefferson City, executive director. Missouri Academy of Veterinary Practice—Dr. George Fischer, Amity, president; Dr. Richard D. Linn, Ozark, president-elect; Dr. Lauren Smith, Kansas City, vice president; and Richard Antweiler, Jefferson City, executive secretary/treasurer. Missouri Veterinary Medical Foundation—Dr. William J. Shore, St. Louis, board chair; Dr. Clark A. Gwin, Chillicothe, vice board chair; George Buckloo, Lake Tapawingo, secretary-treasurer; and Dr. Roger Dozier, Jefferson City, museum director