United States Animal Health Association

Published on
information-circle This article is more than 3 years old
Bill Hawks
Bill Hawks
Dr. Tomlinson
Dr. Sarah Tomlinson
Dr. King
Dr. Bruce King
Dr. Schmitt
Dr. David Schmitt

Event: 118th annual meeting, Oct. 16-22, 2014, Kansas City, Missouri
Program: The meeting, held jointly with the American Association of Veterinary Laboratory Diagnosticians (see article), drew more than 1,200 attendees. The joint plenary session “Achieving Perspectives to Feed the World” focused on issues affecting animal agriculture and their roles in feeding the world, and featured speakers Randy Krotz, United States Farmers and Ranchers Alliance; Charlie Arnot, Center for Food Integrity; Jude Capper, PhD, Livestock Sustainability Consultancy; Dr. Mike Apley, Kansas State University; Candace Croney, PhD, Purdue University Center for Animal Welfare Science; Richard Raymond, MD, former Department of Agriculture undersecretary for food safety; and David Fikes, Food Marketing Institute.
Awards: USAHA Medal of Distinction: Bill Hawks, Washington, D.C., for his longtime partnership with the association. Hawks is a consultant in animal health and a past USDA undersecretary for marketing and regulatory programs. He was known for his ability to bring organizations together to develop solutions. USAHA Federal Partnership Award: Dr. Sarah Tomlinson, Fort Collins, Colorado. A 2004 graduate of Colorado State University College of Veterinary Medicine & Biomedical Sciences, Dr. Tomlinson is the coordinator for the National Animal Health Laboratory Network of the USDA Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service’s Veterinary Services division. She has been instrumental in coordinating the laboratories’ work in surveillance, particularly for the swine industry. APHIS Administrator’s Award: Dr. Donald Ritter, Millsboro, Delaware. A 1984 graduate of the University of Missouri-Columbia College of Veterinary Medicine and a diplomate of the American College of Poultry Veterinarians, Dr. Ritter is director of health services at Mountaire Farms Inc. in Millsboro, Delaware, and past chair of the General Council Committee of the National Poultry Improvement Plan. He was honored for his service to the poultry industry. National Assembly Award: Dr. Thomas Holt, Tallahassee, Florida. A 1976 graduate of the Cornell University College of Veterinary Medicine, Dr. Holt recently retired as Florida state veterinarian. Earlier in his career, he worked for the USDA. Dr. Holt was recognized for his service to regulatory veterinary medicine in Florida. Immediate past president Dr. Stephen Crawford was honored for his service as president from 2013-2014.
Business: The USAHA will be implementing a new strategic plan over the next five years to evaluate, develop, and implement strategies for the association’s work in animal health and regulatory medicine. The association approved 25 resolutions, which can be viewed at usaha.org/Reference/USAHAResolutions.aspx.
Officials: Dr. Bruce King, Axtell, Utah, president; Dr. David Schmitt, Ankeny, Iowa, president-elect; Dr. Boyd Parr, Columbia, South Carolina, first vice president; Barbara Determan, Early, Iowa, second vice president; Kristin Haas, Montpelier, Vermont, third vice president; Dr. Annette Jones, Sacramento, California, treasurer; and Dr. Stephen Crawford, Concord, New Hampshire, immediate past president