American Association of Zoo Veterinarians

Published on
information-circle This article is more than 3 years old

Event: Annual conference, Oct. 18-24, 2014, Orlando, Florida
Program: The conference drew 941 attendees, representing 29 countries.
Awards: Emil Dolensek Award: Dr. Daniel M. Mulcahy, Anchorage, Alaska, for exceptional contributions to the conservation, care, and understanding of zoo and free-ranging wildlife. Dr. Mulcahy obtained his doctorate in microbiology from Oregon State University in 1977 and his DVM degree from the University of Wisconsin-Madison in 1992. He serves as a veterinary medical officer and wildlife veterinarian for the United States Geological Survey Alaska Science Center in Anchorage. Dr. Mulcahy is a diplomate of the American College of Zoological Medicine. Lifetime Achievement Award: This award, recognizing a lifetime of contributions to the discipline of zoological medicine, was given posthumously to Dr. Murray E. Fowler (see JAVMA obituary, Sept. 15, 2014). Dr. Fowler was professor emeritus of zoological medicine at the University of California-Davis School of Veterinary Medicine and a founding member of the ACZM, a charter diplomate of the American College of Veterinary Internal Medicine, and a diplomate of the American Board of Veterinary Toxicology. 2013 Lifetime Achievement Award: Dr. Martin R. Dinnes, Santa Clarita, California, was recognized at the conference. A 1966 veterinary graduate of the University of California-Davis and a diplomate and founding member of the ACZM, Dr. Dinnes is the founder of Dinnes Memorial Veterinary Hospital, focusing on zoo and aquatic animal medicine and surgery. He invented and developed the Telinject system for remote injection. Linda Munson Pathology Manuscript Award: Dr. Sophie Regnault, Hertfordshire, United Kingdom, for “Osteopathology in the feet of rhinoceroses: lesion type and distribution.” AAZV/Animal Necessity Veterinary Student Competition: First place—Emma Houck (California-Davis ’16), for “Evaluation of thermal anti-nociceptive effects of buprenorphine hydrochloride in cockatiels (Nymphicus hollandicus)”; and second place—Lauren Kane (Illinois ’16), for “Successful treatment of mandibular osteomyelitis in two red-necked wallabies (Macropus rufogriseus) using long-term pharmaceutical therapy and serial monitoring by computed tomography imaging”; AAZV/Morris Animal Foundation Postgraduate Student Manuscript Competition: First place—Dr. Sarah Cannizzo (Pennsylvania ’12) for “Evaluation of in-house urine dipstick, reference laboratory urinalysis, and urine protein: Creatinine ratio from a colony of Goeldi’s monkeys (Callimico goeldii)”; and second place—Dr. Jessica Emerson (Michigan State ’05) for “Evaluation of a novel technique as an indicator of immunoglobulin passive transfer in six species of non-domestic ruminant.” Safe Capture International Inc. Poster Competition: First place—Dr. James Johnson (Ohio State ’12) for “Hypercalcemia and metastatic mineralization associated with renal disease in rock hyrax (Procavia capensis)”; and second place— Dr. John Flanders (Missouri ’11) for “Epidemiology of naso-oral squamous cell carcinoma in Francois’ langurs (Trachypithecus francoisi).” International Scholarship Program winners: Drs. Jesus Lescano, National University of San Marcos, Lima, Peru; Sanath Krishna, Bannerghatta Biological Park, Bengaluru, India; Arun Sha, Wildlife SOS, New Delhi; Hameed Katereegga, Uganda Wildlife Education Centre Zoo, Entebbe, Uganda; Maria Pia Martin, Finca Azul Wildlife Sanctuary, Quepos, Costa Rica; Carolina Garcia Parra, Charles Darwin Foundation, Galapagos, Ecuador; Eddy Kambale, Gorilla Doctors, Goma Town, Democratic Republic of Congo; and Andres Alejandro Castro, Unit of Rescue and Rehabilitation of Wild Animals, Bogota DC, Colombia. The AAZV Wild Animal Health Fund provided funding in the amount of $75,389 for eight projects.
Business: The AAZV’s Developing Nation Limited Member program is in its fourth year and has grown from 26 participants to 108. DNLM members cannot vote or hold office but receive all other member benefits and access to the online journal, email list, and the members-only area of the website.
Officials: Drs. Meg Sutherland-Smith, San Diego, president; Kelly Helmick, Seattle, president-elect; R. Scott Larsen, Denver, vice president; Michael Adkesson, Chicago, secretary; Chris Hanley, Toledo, Ohio, treasurer; Doug Armstrong, Omaha, Nebraska, immediate past president; and Robert Hilsenroth, Yulee, Florida, executive director