AVMA accolades

Awards recognize excellence in veterinary medicine
Published on September 03, 2014
information-circle This article is more than 3 years old

During the AVMA Annual Convention this July in Denver, the AVMA conferred awards on a number of individuals and one organization for efforts in advancing animal welfare, public health, research, and veterinary medicine.

Dr. Henry E. Childers received the AVMA Award (see article), and Dr. Jeffrey S. Klausner received the AVMA Meritorious Service Award (see article). Following are some key achievements of the other award recipients.

AVMA Animal Welfare Award

This award recognizes an AVMA member for achievements in advancing the welfare of animals.

Dr. B. Taylor Bennett

Dr. Bennett (Auburn ‘69) spent 36 years overseeing the animal care and use program at the University of Illinois at Chicago, serving as the university’s associate vice chancellor for research resources for 10 years. He is currently a consultant and serves as senior scientific adviser for the National Association for Biomedical Research. He is a diplomate of the American College of Laboratory Animal Medicine and American College of Animal Welfare. He is a past president of the Association of Primate Veterinarians, American Association for Laboratory Animal Science, and American Society of Laboratory Animal Practitioners. He served as ASLAP delegate to the AVMA House of Delegates, on two AVMA panels on euthanasia, and on the AVMA Convention Management and Program Committee. He is on the board of directors of the Scientists Center for Animal Welfare and chair of the board of the ASLAP Foundation.

AVMA Humane Award

This award recognizes a nonveterinarian for achievements in advancing the welfare of animals.

Ralph Johnson

Johnson is executive director of the Colorado VMA, the Denver Area Veterinary Medical Society, and PetAid Colorado. PetAid provides veterinary care for pets of underprivileged owners and disaster response for animals. Johnson has been in association management for 35 years, including serving as senior vice president of an association management company and executive director of the Society for American Archaeology. Johnson currently serves on the boards of the CATalyst Council, Partners for Healthy Pets, the Colorado Pet Overpopulation Fund, Coloradans Protecting Animal Welfare, and the Legislative Committee for the Colorado Federation of Animal Welfare Agencies. He has served on a number of AVMA entities, most recently as chair of the Task Force on Governance and Member Participation. He is a past president of the American Society of Veterinary Medical Association Executives.

AVMA Public Service Award

This award recognizes an AVMA member for outstanding public service or contributions to public health and regulatory veterinary medicine.

Dr. Gale Galland

Dr. Galland (Georgia ‘86) spent most of her career as a member of the U.S. Public Health Service working at the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. She spent time in private practice and industry early in her career before joining the USPHS and CDC. She rose to the rank of captain during her 21 years as a commissioned officer. Her first job with the CDC was as a staff veterinarian in charge of malaria vaccine trials. She went on to hold leadership positions with the CDC’s laboratory animal program, Zoonoses Team in the Division of Global Migration and Quarantine, and quarantine program for importation of nonhuman primates. She is a diplomate of the American College of Veterinary Preventive Medicine. She now works part time with the CDC program for importation of nonhuman primates and part time in private practice.

AVMF/Winn Feline Foundation Research Award

The American Veterinary Medical Foundation and Winn Feline Foundation established this award for an individual who has contributed to feline research.

Dr. Tim Gruffydd-Jones

Dr. Gruffydd-Jones (Royal Veterinary College ‘73) has devoted most of his career to the field of feline medicine at the University of Bristol in England. He spent a short time in practice before joining the university, where he went on to a chair in feline medicine. Within his field, he has a particular interest in infectious diseases, gastroenterology, endocrine disorders, and breeding problems. He is a diplomate of the European College of Veterinary Internal Medicine and a Royal College of Veterinary Surgeons–recognized specialist in feline medicine. He also has been active in feline welfare activities. He served from 1980-2002 as chairman of the Feline Advisory Bureau, now International Cat Care, which includes the International Society of Feline Medicine as its veterinary division. He is currently deputy chairman of Cats Protection, a cat rescue organization in the United Kingdom.

XIIth International Veterinary Congress Prize

This award recognizes an AVMA member who has contributed to international understanding of veterinary medicine. 

Dr. Linda L. Logan

Dr. Logan (Texas A&M ‘76) is head of the Department of Veterinary Pathobiology as well as director for international programs at the Texas A&M University College of Veterinary Medicine & Biomedical Sciences. Much of the research portfolio of her department focuses on infectious diseases with an emphasis on zoonotic diseases and transboundary diseases. She worked for a number of years researching vector-borne diseases in livestock at the Department of Agriculture’s Plum Island Animal Disease Center and in Africa with the International Laboratory for Research on Animal Diseases. Previous positions include national program leader for animal health with the USDA Agricultural Research Service, executive director of the Texas Animal Health Commission, attaché for North and East Africa and the Middle East with the USDA Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service, and senior attaché for Africa and the Middle East with APHIS. 

AVMA President’s Award

Dr. Clark K. Fobian, 2013-2014 AVMA president, chose the recipients of this award, which is for individuals or groups who have made a positive impact on health, veterinary organizations, or the profession. 

Dr. Robert E. “Bud” Hertzog

Dr. Hertzog (Missouri ‘56) has been a partner at Lee’s Summit Animal Hospital in Lee’s Summit, Missouri, since 1956. One of his sons, Dr. David C. Hertzog (Missouri ‘92), practices at the hospital. Dr. Bud Hertzog also owns and operates livestock and grain farms with his family. A consultant for the Kansas City Zoo, he spent 25 years as zoo veterinarian and is a charter member of the American Association of Zoo Veterinarians. He is a past chair of the AVMA Board of Directors and AVMF board of directors, past president of the Missouri VMA and Kansas City VMA, and past chair of the Missouri Veterinary Medical Board. He has been the veterinarian for Kansas City’s American Royal livestock and horse show for 50 years. Active in civic life, he served four terms on the Jackson County Legislature. 

American Veterinary Medical Foundation

The AVMF is the charitable arm of the AVMA. For more than 50 years, the Foundation has been dedicated to advancing the well-being and medical care of animals. Charitable contributions and support to the AVMF help veterinarians help animals. Areas of emphasis through the decades have included research fellowships and funding, student loans and scholarships, and disaster preparedness and response activities. Along with supporting the AVMA and its initiatives, the AVMF’s current strategic initiatives are in the areas of humane outreach and animal welfare, including disaster preparedness and response; education and public awareness; research support; and student enhancement. In the past decade, the Foundation has awarded grants totaling more than $10 million. The AVMF has received a four-star rating from Charity Navigator for the past three years.