Candidates stump for AVMA leadership positions

Published on
information-circle This article is more than 3 years old

Candidates for 2014-2015 AVMA president-elect and 2014-2016 AVMA vice president officially introduced themselves to the AVMA House of Delegates Jan. 11. They had launched their campaigns prior to the AVMA Annual Convention last summer in Chicago. 

Seeking the office of AVMA president-elect are Drs. Larry G. Dee and Joseph H. Kinnarney, while Drs. Mark Russak and Rebecca E. Stinson are running for election as vice president, the Association’s liaison to the Student AVMA and student chapters. 

Dr. Dee (AUB ‘69) is co-owner of a companion animal hospital in Hollywood, Fla. He has been Florida’s delegate and alternate delegate to the AVMA House of Delegates and has worked as an adjunct faculty member in the Department of Medical Sciences at the University of Florida since 1983. Dr. Dee had represented District IV on the AVMA Executive Board since 2008. 

Dr. Kinnarney (COR ‘80) is a mixed animal practitioner in Reidsville, N.C., and president of four small animal hospitals and an equine hospital. With the AVMA, Dr. Kinnarney has served on the Executive Board, as vice president, and as a member of the HOD representing North Carolina. 

Dr. Russak (COL ‘76) is a former American Animal Hospital Association president and a current member of its board of directors. The Colorado State University College of Veterinary Medicine & Biomedical Sciences alum has delivered more than 50 presentations at veterinary colleges throughout the United States, Canada, and the Caribbean on such topics as business management and communication. 

Dr. Stinson (GA ’02) is an equine practitioner in North Carolina and was a participant in the AVMA Future Leaders Program. She has served on the former AVMA Member Services Committee and the AVMA Council on Veterinary Service and Model Practice Act Task Force. Dr. Stinson is a former SAVMA president and former chair of the American Association of Equine Practitioners’ Student Relations Committee.