American College of Veterinary Surgeons

Published on
information-circle This article is more than 3 years old
Dr. Embertson
Dr. Rolf M. Embertson
Dr. Cheryl S. Hedlund
Dr. DeCamp
Dr. Charles E. DeCamp

Event: Annual meeting, Oct. 24-26, San Antonio
Awards: ACVS Founders’ Award for Career Achievement: Dr. A. Simon Turner, Fort Collins, Colo., won this award, which recognizes the service of ACVS diplomates who have distinguished themselves through important contributions to the development of surgical techniques and methodology and through dissemination of knowledge to colleagues, residents, and students. A 1972 graduate of the University of Melbourne, Dr. Turner is professor emeritus in the Department of Clinical Sciences at the Colorado State University College of Veterinary Medicine & Biomedical Sciences. Known for his expertise on the use of sheep as surgical models in orthopedics and his work in musculoskeletal research, he established the Small Ruminant Comparative Orthopaedic Research Laboratory during his tenure at the university. Earlier in his career, Dr. Turner was an equine surgical clinician and served as an associate professor at Western College of Veterinary Medicine in Saskatoon. ACVS Merit Award: Dr. Aldo Vezzoni, Cremona, Italy, won this award, given to an individual outside the ACVS whose career has been dominated by major and ongoing contributions to the art and science of veterinary surgery. A diplomate of the European College of Veterinary Surgeons, Dr. Vezzoni owns a small animal orthopedic referral practice in Cremona. He is known for his expertise in juvenile canine orthopedics. Dr. Vezzoni has served as an adjunct professor in orthopedics at the veterinary schools in Milan and Vienna. He is secretary of the European Society of Veterinary Orthopedics and Traumatology and has helped establish the Italian Companion Animal Veterinary Association, Italian Society of Veterinary Orthopedics, and Federation of European Companion Animal Veterinary Associations. Also recognized at the meeting were Drs. Stephen J. Withrow, Fort Collins, Colo.; Thomas M. Turner, Willowbrook, Ill.; and H. Phil Hobson, College Station, Texas. They were recipients of the 2012 ACVS Award (see JAVMA, Feb. 15, 2013).
New diplomates: Seventy-five new diplomates were welcomed into the ACVS. They are as follows:

Gustavo A. Abuja, Pine Plains, N.Y.
Stacy L. Anderson, Saskatoon, Saskatchewan
Donniel E. Astor, Naples, Fla.
Leonardo A. Baez, Apex, N.C.
Sabrina Barry, Blacksburg, Va.
Andrea S. Bischofberger, Gipf-Oberfrick, Switzerland
Belinda Black, Guelph, Ontario
Nicholas R. Cabano, San Antonio
Eric Carlson, Lexington, Ky.
John W. Davis, Navasota, Texas
Michael D. DeTora, Palm Beach Gardens, Fla.
Elizabeth Devine, Manhattan, Kan.
Niklas J. Drumm, Hamburg, Germany
Danielle R. Dugat, Stillwater, Okla.
Myra Durham, Cary, N.C.
Eric Everett, Glenwood Springs, Colo.
Robin Fontenot, Christiansburg, Va.
Milagros Freire-Gonzalez, Raleigh, N.C.
Tracy N. Frey, San Diego
Katy J. Fryer, Sacramento, Calif.
Andrew Grange, Oakland, Calif.
Michael L. Green, Fort Collins, Colo.
Reunan Guillou, East Lansing, Mich.
Heather S. Hadley, Eden Prairie, Minn.
Peter Harding, Toorak, Victoria
Kendra Hearon, Downingtown, Pa.
Antje Hinz, Redondo Beach, Calif.
Susan C. Hodge, Mason, Ohio
Rebecca T. Hodshon, Lenoir City, Tenn.
Jason Horgan, Davie, Fla.
Caleb C. Hudson, Gainesville, Fla.
Tomas Infernuso, Locust Valley, N.Y.
Shantibhushan Jha, Lynnwood, Wash.
S. Anthony Kahn, Montreal
Jennifer L. Kamm, Swanton, Ohio
Maureen Kelleher, San Marcos, Calif.
Meghan A. Kruse, Missouri City, Texas
Mathieu Lacourt, St.-Arnoult, France
Wesley Lee, Bossier City, La.
Marcos Lores, Red Deer, Alberta
Melissa MacKinnon, Guelph, Ontario
Karl C. Maritato, Cincinnati
Nathan R. McClellan, San Luis Obispo, Calif.
Megan J. McCracken, Bothell, Wash.
Kelci McKeirnan, Stillwater, Okla.
Turlough McNally, Gainesville, Fla.
Jose L. Mendez-Angulo, St. Paul, Minn.
Jacob Michelsen, Wagga Wagga, Australia
Ralph P. Millard, West Lafayette, Ind.
Cathleen A. Mochal-King, Crawford, Miss.
Leslie Montgomery, Las Vegas
Kathleen B. Mullins, Hartselle, Ala.
Michelle Oblak, Gainesville, Fla.
Henry O’Neill, East Lansing, Mich.
Perrine Piat, St. Hyacinthe, Quebec
Rhea Plesman, Toronto
Daniel P. Polidoro, West Hollywood, Calif.
Debbie Reynolds, Guelph, Ontario
Duane A. Robinson, Baton Rouge, La.
Julie M. Rosser, Charleston, S.C.
Sherisse Sakals, Saskatoon, Saskatchewan
Kathryn Seabaugh, Athens, Ga.
James Simcock, Frankston South, Australia
Shasta E. Smith, Perkins, Okla.
Albert Sole-Guitart, Davis, Calif.
Seanna Swayne, Milton, Ontario
Ryan D. Taggart, Albuquerque, N.M.
Angel M. Thompson, Allen, Texas
Katy Townsend, Columbus, Ohio
Nicolas E. Vecchio, Indianapolis
Susan R. Vogel, Lafayette, Ind.
Kara M. Weemhoff, Leawood, Kan.
Mirae Wood, Columbia, Mo.
Katja L. Wucherer, Chico, Calif.
Stavros Yiannikouris, Nicosia, Cyprus

Officials: Drs. Rolf M. Embertson, Lexington, Ky., president; Cheryl S. Hedlund, Ames, Iowa, chair of the Board of Regents; Charles E. DeCamp, East Lansing, Mich., president-elect; and C. Collins “Andy” Anderson III, San Antonio, treasurer